Jack Wilson's Slaw Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Sounded good, but the celery seed was overwhelming even though I used half of the amount indicated in the recipe. After serving it the first time and being disappointed, I did tweak it, adding sugar to offset the bitterness, and it was better, but there are so many good recipes out there that it isn't worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Followed zerodramamama's recommendations except I substituted full-cream sour cream for the cream. I used extra-hot horse radish and it is awesome. This amount of dressing is about perfect for a one pound bag of prepared slaw unless you like it soupy. I almost forgot- I put about a half teaspoon of lemon too. Just a pinch of celery seed. A smidge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is a good and tangy coleslaw dressing. I did sub buttermilk for the heavy cream. We had a nice tight and zesty head of freshly harvested cabbage from our weekly CSA box and it made a really nice slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
will make again. didn't have horseradish so substituted prepared mustard with dijon. and didn't have celery seeds. used coffee creme instead of heavy cream. it came out awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
First, the ease of mixing/storing in a jar works wonderfully. Second, I used about 1 teaspoon of celery SALT, red wine vinegar instead of white, 1% mild to desired consistency (didn't have heavy cream on hand), then followed recipe almost to a tee (eyed measurements). Third, this recipe is perfect for a 16oz bag of slaw mix, and finally, my picky, picky boyfriend's rave review was the icing on the cake! Perfect all the way around! Would probably make a great salad dressing as well as dipping sauce for chicken/shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Although I made changes to the recipe that had a negative impact - I don't know if this one would have ever been my favorite. Piggy backing off previous reviews I tried a little yogurt to boost the health factor in this recipe - wouldn't do that again. My own fault. Now onto where I don't like the recipe, the honey was too strong. I think the sugar would have provided adequate sweetness and the honey added a fruity sweetness I didn't like and had to temper with extra vinegar. As for the celery seed - 1 tsp was enough. Used it on Broccoli slaw.... too sweet for me can imagine it would have been worse with cabbage mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
It was pretty obvious to me that there was too much celery seed for my taste, so I adjusted it. One tsp was enough for me, and I also used fat free half & half (had no cream on hand) and a good spicy dijon. Between that and the horseradish it had quite a kick!! Loved it! I was serving this for guests, but next time will replace most - if not all - of the mayo with nonfat yogurt, as I plan on making this often. I also like to use both green and red cabbage to make it colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I loved it -- especially with the horseradish -- but I did use less celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This recipie was terrible. I only used three tablespoons of celery seed because that's all I had. My kids spit it out. My husband had one bite and wouldn't eat it. The celery seed bitterness spoiled a lot of good cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
The four tablespoons of celery seed must have been a mistake. Too much made a good dressing too "bitter". I'm sure four teaspoons would have been the correct amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States