Jack-O-Lantern Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good. The only changes I made were for some health substitutions. (Used half whole wheat flour, egg beaters, 1 T melted butter with 1 T applesauce.) I did run out of brown sugar though, so I made it to 1/4C with some sugar substitute. I doubt it made too much of a difference though. The taste was pretty good, my husband loved them to pieces. I wasn't too thrilled with how thick they were (I was just in the mood for regular pancake-thin pancakes) but they were still tasty. I'd probably add some more spices or pumpkin to get more of that flavor out, but not necessary. They were pretty tasty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These tasted great! I did follow the advice from tat2's review and left my batter to sit for about 15 minutes before cooking. They cooked up perfectly, no extra time needed. Now I'm not the best pancake flipper in the world - so I didn't bother to make the choc. chip face while cooking but rather after cooking, by cutting out pieces of the pancake to accommodate the choc. chips. Unfortunately it only worked for the eyes and nose. The mouth, I'm not sure what happened lol - I need some carving skills! Haha. I wish it did turn out pretty but hey, I can't complain about the flavour of these pancakes! It's awesome! I was going to serve with pecan butter but it turns out the chocolate was the perfect compliment to the pancakes IMO. I think next time I may just add the chocolate chips into the batter rather than trying to make a face out of them. Thank you for sharing your recipe! It's very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Made as written. Used a pumpkin shaped cookie cutter to cut out a few and my kids absolutely loved them. What a fun idea and a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I agree that the original recipe did not "cook up in time." Try 10-12 Mins (as suggested in other "Pumpkin Recipes" on this site,) especially as this recipe calls for 1 c flour and 1 c oats!. Mange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Loved these! I used whole wheat flour and added a lot more of the spices, as I love the spice flavors. I didn't even add any toppings to them! Delicious and filling! Also note that they cook a lot slower than regular pancakes. I cooked them at a slightly lower tempature to keep the outsides from browning too much and still able to get the inside cooke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Pigeon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used half whole wheat flour half all purpose flour, applesauce instead of vegetable oil, and they were super delicious! :) I didn't have any problems with baking time either, just about five minutes on each side and they were ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We did not have pumpkin and substituted with applesauce and they turned out awesome, so moist and flavorful, our whole family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I would certainly let is rest for 15 minutes or more. My husband put bananas and whipped cream on his and he said it was very good. My kids loved the faces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought these were so yummy. I followed it closely except from one review I decided to substitute applesauce for the oil and I used whole wheat white flour. My kids really liked them especially my 9 month old who is just starting table foods. Didn't need syrup and were yummy later even cold. **Update: I have also substituted mashed banana for the pumpkin and really liked the flavor. I also used mini choco chips instead of making faces. These stay good for several days if kept in the refridgerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It was very good. Kids loved it and so did I. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and instead of 1/4 of cinnamon, I did 1 tsp. I also did 1/8 of cloves rather than what it called for. I used chocolate chips but then I also did peanut butter chips as I ran out of chocolate. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States