Jack-O-Lantern Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This recipe was quite good, but it did not cook right. The pancakes were on the griddle for a LONG time and they never fully cooked. They were chewy and wet, but delicious. I want to give it more stars and maybe I should have cooked them longer, but somethig is missing - either an ingredient, quantity, or cooking instruction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I agree with the previous review that they took a long time to cook. This recipe is excellent though and I'm sure I'll make it again. I added more milk - maybe another cup (I added a little at a time until the batter was thin enough). Also, I only had old-fashioned oats and blended them up before adding them to the batter. GREAT! - even my picky son ate the pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I agree that the original recipe did not "cook up in time." Try 10-12 Mins (as suggested in other "Pumpkin Recipes" on this site,) especially as this recipe calls for 1 c flour and 1 c oats!. Mange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Yum! Loved them and will make them again!!! I gave it four stars like the others simply for the fact that it does need more milk. Also, if you add the choc. chips after you flip the pancake it turns out much better and less mess. With the modifications the recipe is a five star! I shared it with my friends on face-book too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written, only using lowfat buttermilk instead of regular milk. As I've learned with most oatmeal based recipes, the batter really needs to sit for about 15 minutes or so to give the oatmeal a chance to soak up some of the excess liquid and puff up and expand. These puffed up nicely and cooked up without issues on my griddle. I served this with a pumpkin spice syrup and homemade breakfast sausage. The kids and I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These tasted great! I did follow the advice from tat2's review and left my batter to sit for about 15 minutes before cooking. They cooked up perfectly, no extra time needed. Now I'm not the best pancake flipper in the world - so I didn't bother to make the choc. chip face while cooking but rather after cooking, by cutting out pieces of the pancake to accommodate the choc. chips. Unfortunately it only worked for the eyes and nose. The mouth, I'm not sure what happened lol - I need some carving skills! Haha. I wish it did turn out pretty but hey, I can't complain about the flavour of these pancakes! It's awesome! I was going to serve with pecan butter but it turns out the chocolate was the perfect compliment to the pancakes IMO. I think next time I may just add the chocolate chips into the batter rather than trying to make a face out of them. Thank you for sharing your recipe! It's very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I really liked this, but hubbie wasn't too crazy about them. I used Walnuts instead of choco chips since he is a diabetic. Oat bran instead of quick cooking. Just a bit of brown sugar & a bit of Splenda. My homemade pumpkin pie spice, buttermilk for the milk. It's a VERY thick batter & hard to tell when they are done, but I loved the flavor of them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Loved these! I used whole wheat flour and added a lot more of the spices, as I love the spice flavors. I didn't even add any toppings to them! Delicious and filling! Also note that they cook a lot slower than regular pancakes. I cooked them at a slightly lower tempature to keep the outsides from browning too much and still able to get the inside cooke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Pigeon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
It was okay. I was a bit dissappointed. I did let it sit for 15minutes but mine was way too thick. It was a bit dry. My kids liked it but I will not make this recipe again unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hall Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Kids loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States