Jack-O-Lantern Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I feel like I'm missing something here. I made this exactly as written and the batter was thick!! Thick like biscuit dough. Only after thinning the batter with more milk, and adding some applesauce did it thin down enough to be near pancake consistency. Then the chocolate chips burned after flipping em. I'm not sold on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I thought these were O.K., but my husband didn't really care for them. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did let the batter sit for 15 minutes, as suggested by another reviewer and I had no problem with the cooking time. I found the cloves to be a little over powering - I really couldn't taste the pumpkin at all. If I make these again I will omit the cloves entirely and maybe add more cinnamon. These are a very hearty and thick pancake and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We did not have pumpkin and substituted with applesauce and they turned out awesome, so moist and flavorful, our whole family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Made as written. Used a pumpkin shaped cookie cutter to cut out a few and my kids absolutely loved them. What a fun idea and a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used half whole wheat flour half all purpose flour, applesauce instead of vegetable oil, and they were super delicious! :) I didn't have any problems with baking time either, just about five minutes on each side and they were ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good. The only changes I made were for some health substitutions. (Used half whole wheat flour, egg beaters, 1 T melted butter with 1 T applesauce.) I did run out of brown sugar though, so I made it to 1/4C with some sugar substitute. I doubt it made too much of a difference though. The taste was pretty good, my husband loved them to pieces. I wasn't too thrilled with how thick they were (I was just in the mood for regular pancake-thin pancakes) but they were still tasty. I'd probably add some more spices or pumpkin to get more of that flavor out, but not necessary. They were pretty tasty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Overall this is a good recipe base, but I am only giving it 3 stars because I had to make some changes to make it really good. With these alterations, this makes a delicious "guilty pleasure" breakfast. 1 cup +2T milk +1T lemon juice (mix and let sit 5 min to make homemade buttermilk)-- in place of milk in place of sugar I used 1 1/2t agave syrup reduce salt by 1/4t double cinnamon add 3/4t vanilla extract in place of oil, use 2T unsweetened applesauce substitute whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose This might seem life a lengthy list of substitutions, but it makes these so much healthier and delicious. This way your "guilty pleasure" doesn't really have to make you feel guilty:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Beware if you like light or flat pancakes. These are hearty, thick, cake-like, moist. I used oat bran for the oats and whole wheat pastry flour. I also added a Tbsp of cider vinegar to the milk and let it "sour" for a few minutes before adding to the dry ingredients. This acts similar to buttermilk and makes for a wonderfully fluffy result. These are so flavorful..they taste like pumpkin pie in pancake format. We served them with real maple syrup and whipped cream. My hubby added blueberries to one of his while it cooked and he reports it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Kids loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
It was okay. I was a bit dissappointed. I did let it sit for 15minutes but mine was way too thick. It was a bit dry. My kids liked it but I will not make this recipe again unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hall Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States