J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
These were great! I made them for biscuits and gravy and they are everything you want in that dish! I made as directed but scaled them up to 9 biscuits. If I were making them to eat without gravy I might use butter instead of shortening or half butter/half shortening, but the flavor was fine for biscuits and gravy since the gravy is the star of that dish. My oven tends to burn biscuits before they're done in the center and the tops never brown, so I flip them over half way through cooking and solve both problems. I did need the full 15 minutes since these are pretty thick if rolled out as the directions call for (which makes for the awesome high biscuit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great recipe didn't need amt of milk noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Noel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I have tried this and countless biscuits recipes and still couldn't make a good biscuits. All turned out dense, hard, dry. I wondered if it was the technique,I read on all the tips everywhere and still couldn't find what the problem was with such an easy recipe. Now I discovered what was wrong with all these recipes. Read the ingredient list. It doesn't include EGGS. EGGs is what will do the trick. Add 1 egg and you will be much happier with your biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilia Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
AWESOME! This is my go to! These puff up beautifully and taste delicious. The only thing I do differently is I DON'T knead the dough. Throw some honey on these while they are warm and you will have to try very hard not to eat the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Kulp
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Yep this takes a few tries (too salty the first time) but this is now a go-to recipe! These are the modifications that made it work for my family :: 2 c flour, 2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tbs sugar, 1/3 c butter, 3/4 cup milk :: Don't knead it, take it out of the bowl just after it all combines, briefly pat it into a ball and then roll it out to 1/2 inch, fold the whole thing in half before you start cutting. A large round cutter is pretty key to getting "grand" sized biscuits. This makes 5 large biscuits and 1 runt biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kulp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I luv, luv, luv this recipe. Im a Pastry Chef, and this is the best big fluffy biscuit ive ever made, in or out of pastry school. Delicious and beautiful Aj
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I had to make some modifications since I have to bake them with gluten free flour. I added 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 egg, 1 tsp xantham gum and reduced the milk to 2/3 cups. Perfect texture and taste. That does not always work if you change to a GF version of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I use the recipe every time I make biscuits. It never fails. . They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
The quantities are wrong!! 1 cup of milk should be a half cup. The dough was a batter! What the heck? DISAPPOINTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I love soft biscuits, and these were perfect. I did not knead the dough as much because I was afraid it would make them dense. Next time I will try making the dough ahead to see if it makes them even taller. These had a very fresh taste and light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,827) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States