J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by antwannealy
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Perfect biscuit my go to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Most excellent biscuits! i will definitely use this one again! I made a couple changes... The most important thing to know for those who don't have a lot of biscuit experience- recipes are subject to the environmental conditions where you cook. I've done them in TN, NJ, CO, CA, WA and NY. recipe and handling/baking was different in all locations. I do recommend you look at the video- this dough was a bit wetter than I'm used to, and if I hadn't looked at the video I probably would've added far too much flour and ended up with floury bricks, like some of the unhappy reviewers. The only "shortening" I have in my house is coconut oil. I needed a bit more (about 2 extra TBS) to get the right consistency before adding the milk, which I needed a bit less of- I'd say I used about 3/4 - 7/8 cup. I learned this last bit while living in the south. After kneading and rolling out the dough, use a sharp knife (I always use my pizza slicer!) and cut the biscuits out. Every time you scrape the dough together and re-roll it to get more biscuits, they get a little tougher. After putting the biscuits on your pan, put the pan in the fridge for at least 15 minutes to get your shortening of choice to firm up again. Pop them in your preheated oven- and after preheating, let the oven stay at temp at least 15 minutes before adding the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
For those who love biscuits but not butter substitute oil instead then add a little extra milk so the dough is too wet to turn. Use a large serving spoon too scoop mounds of the dough onto the baking sheet and bake for a few extra minutes. Voila, soft delicious biscuits with no butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This has become my go to biscuit recipe !!! I do not knead the dough and I mix everything with a mixer with just enough milk to start pulling away from the sides. Then I pat them out and put them right in the oven !!!! These are great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
really like this recipe as is! I have also added my own spices for a different twist or sweetened it up and either way these turn out wonderful. I don't have patience to knead and cut so I just drop em and pop em in the oven. The family loves em every time no matter what flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terri
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Wow, these were super great ! Used them on my chicken pot pie and they are big and delicious. I brushed with butter before baking. Also, don't require kneading, just rolled them in a big circle and pat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These tasted great but mine didn't rise very well. Based on the great success of all these people with this recipe, I'm sure it's something wrong on my end but I followed the recipe exactly. I will keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Good texture and size. Next time try with brushing the tops with butter and replacing some of the shortening with softened butter. It was missing the salty/buttery goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Good, fluffy/light biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These biscuits were awesome. I substituted "I can't believe it's not butter" for shortening and didn't use all the milk. Just put enough milk to make the dough stick together. I also kneaded the dough very little. They were tender and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States