J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
These biscuits are soft, but I thought it was a bit bland. I prefer biscuits made with butter so the flavor is richer. I would recommend swapping the shortening with salted butter for better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I live in a country where I can not get shortening. What can I substitute that will still work? I really miss biscuits and gravy. Scones are not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I make these all the time, the only thing I do different is I do NOT knead the dough 14 or 15 times, I add the milk and stir for a second or two then flop it onto the lightly floured board, knead about 1 or 2 times until it sticks together, then roll or pat it out to about 1 1/2 inches thick, cut with a juice glass, put the biscuits onto a non- greased cookie sheet and bake, they come out light and fluffy, the extra kneading will make biscuits tough,the less you handle it the better. (same goes for pie dough, if you knead it too much, you end up with a tough crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I was taught to make the. Best biscuits ever by both my grandmothers who came from widely diverse backgrounds and neither of them would have dreamed of putting sugar In the mix and certainly never anything but buttermilk! They also both used lard, but in this day and age, any sort of shortening or butter would be suitable, but not margarine as the water content is too high. Now, if you want a good all purpose biscuit for short cake, go ahead and add the sugar and 1 tsp vanilla, mix and bake in the same manner, I like to sprinkle a little sugar on these before I bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a great biscuit recipe. The only comment I would make is regarding the video on how to make these. I don't think you should knead biscuit dough at all. Like pie pastry, kneading will make them heavier and less flaky. Simply gather the dough and press together firmly before rolling out. Also, If you have opened baking powder in your cabinet that is older than 4 months, throw it out and buy some fresh. If your biscuits are not rising as much as they should, stale baking powder is usually why. I have experimented adding some additional things to this basic recipe. Try adding a little grated cheese, or some roasted garlic, or perhaps some diced sun-dried tomatoes just before adding the milk. Also, I find they come out a little nicer flavored if you use buttermilk instead of regular milk, but they are delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Similar to my biscuits but I use buttermilk and self rising flour. Do not knead the dough much at all or they will be tough. Use just enough milk so it will stick together, that way you won't need to knead much. Pour milk in a little at a time until you get consistency the way you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Hardly knead the dough. This is the secret to a light biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
As advertised! They came out great! I am a hero at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have tried making biscuits many times and this is the only recipe where they actually turn out right every time. I make mine in a stand mixer and I always end up using about 1/4 cup less of the milk so add milk gradually until the mixture comes away from the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I've been making these for a while now and love them. Just don't handle the dough too much and they turn out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States