J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These biscuits were good not awesome. I was a bit disappointed to find how hard and salty they were. The texture was rough. Better luck next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I made these last night to go with gravy and they were so easy and quick and delicious. I used cold butter instead of shortening and didn't use the full cup of milk. They turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaykewanker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This was so easy to make and I also used butter instead of shortening. My husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This is best/easiest recipe. I like to make the night before and have ready to throw in oven. My family always loves these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
The best homemade biscuits ever! Taste like a better version of KFCs biscuits in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I don't make biscuits, I make Hockey pucks: With this recipe I made the most AWESOME biscuits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! KUDOS!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Lindsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great recipe. These made exactly 6 large biscuits. I put on generously floured surface, made a quick rectangle which I folded into the middle from both sides. Do this 3 times only. Make sure it`s 1" thick. Round it into a circle and use about 2-3/4" biscuit cutter. Press straight down. Lift up the biscuit and place on baking sheet touching each other. As you remove the cut biscuit just gently push the extra dough back into the circle. The final remaining dough should be just enough to make that 6th biscuit. I also used Discobunny's suggestions as followed for more flavor: substitute cultured buttermilk powder (4 TBS Saco brand) + 1 c. water in place of the milk; dropped the baking powder back to 2 tsp; and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Husband said, "Now THAT'S a perfect biscuit!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by antwannealy
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Perfect biscuit my go to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Most excellent biscuits! i will definitely use this one again! I made a couple changes... The most important thing to know for those who don't have a lot of biscuit experience- recipes are subject to the environmental conditions where you cook. I've done them in TN, NJ, CO, CA, WA and NY. recipe and handling/baking was different in all locations. I do recommend you look at the video- this dough was a bit wetter than I'm used to, and if I hadn't looked at the video I probably would've added far too much flour and ended up with floury bricks, like some of the unhappy reviewers. The only "shortening" I have in my house is coconut oil. I needed a bit more (about 2 extra TBS) to get the right consistency before adding the milk, which I needed a bit less of- I'd say I used about 3/4 - 7/8 cup. I learned this last bit while living in the south. After kneading and rolling out the dough, use a sharp knife (I always use my pizza slicer!) and cut the biscuits out- get over the need for round biscuits. Every time you scrape the dough together and re-roll it to get more biscuits, they get a little tougher. After putting the biscuits on your pan, put the pan in the fridge for at least 15 minutes to get your shortening of choice to firm up again. Pop them in your preheated oven- and after preheating, let the oven stay at temp at least 15 minutes before adding the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
For those who love biscuits but not butter substitute oil instead then add a little extra milk so the dough is too wet to turn. Use a large serving spoon too scoop mounds of the dough onto the baking sheet and bake for a few extra minutes. Voila, soft delicious biscuits with no butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States