J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I am 70 years old and have been cooking for over 50 years. I tried to make biscuits when I was much younger, they were like hockey pucks, I never made them again, until I tried these. They were wonderful and so easy. I don't know why anyone would want to change the recipe. They are perfect just the way they are. I will make them again soon, with dried beef gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Yummy. Must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Love this recipe. It's the only one i use now - simple yet effective. Love the density and the texture. Question - any way to juice up the flavor. They are really good, but could use something 'extra'. Perhaps I'll try butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kip Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I've used this recipe dozens of times now in fact it's the reason I signed up for an allrecipes account. I've made them rolled/cut and drop style plain and with a number of added ingredients (tonight ham, cheese, leeks and herbs) this is the best biscuit recipe I've ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These was really good. I made 2 batches the first one I followed the recipe to a T. They turned out good but did not raise the way I had hoped. Second time around I made these changes. 1. I used buttermilk instead of milk. 2. DO NOT knead just mix till combined 3.let dough rest for 1-3 hours before patting out and baking. brush top with melted butter before and after baking. making these few changes made some outstanding biscuits! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Nice texture, very good fluffy soft insides and slightly crunchy, harder outside shell. I only used about 3/4 of a cup of milk. They baked for about 15-17 minutes. I also used all butter, I didn't have any shortening. They were perfect, except that they had little to no flavor. I think if you used buttermilk instead of regular milk, or normal milk instead of almond milk like I did, they would have had more flavor. Other than that they were REALLY GOOD. They also rose PERFECTLY! I made 9 biscuits instead of 6 fatter ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulene Farwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
So good! I used the advice of GBOLLER and used buttermilk 1/2 tsp baking soda and only 2 tsp baking powder. Tasty and moist as well as crumbly... MMmmm Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe! I didn't have any shortening so substituted butter. Used 1/2 milk, 1/2 half & half. They turned out light nod fluffy. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Wow! These were so good. Light and fluffy!! Will be making these again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
After making this recipe for 3 years in Colorado, I knead the dough no more than 8 times. Dough is softer and makes for fluffier biscuits. After kneading, I usually refrigerate the dough while crockpot meal is simmering. I use a rolling pin and a very large mouth glass to cut only 5 biscuits from each batch. Large and fluffy biscuits every time! No changes are made to the temp, but bake a few minutes more until tops are lightly browned. High altitude sometimes requires cooking adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTCOOKIN4TWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States