J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelwoy
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
It says to roll the biscuits out to 1 inch thick and I ended up with biscuits 5 inches high and very doughy in the middle. They tasted good but 1 inch is probably too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
PERFECT biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Love them!! Easy to make. I used cold butter and shortening to make up the 1/3 cup. I did not knead mine much. Just probably 4 times of basically folding them over themselves and patting them out. I will definitely be making more of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I followed this to a "t"-but I doubled it! Perfect, tender biscuits..my new go-to! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malissa Lagios

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice, but followed the suggestion in someone else's review and used 2 tsp of baking powder and half tsp baking soda. I rarely have all the ingredients needed so below are some substitutes I find helpful. Substitutes: 1.)Instead of shortening, butter works fine. 2.) a few other Reviewers suggests buttermilk for a little extra flavor. Since I never buy buttermilk, I learned that milk & vinegar works great. Just pour a cup of milk, then take about a tbs of vinegar and add it to the milk (do not stir!) and let sit for about 5. The milk with thicken a little and have a slight sour smell. Works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by So good its great!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Worked great the first time around. I rolled them thinner than 1" (in order to get more than 2-3), and they were still so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Delicious biscuit recipe! A good, old standard. I baked mine in a cast iron skillet. I preheated the skillet in the 425 oven, then added a couple tbs of butter to melt. The biscuits cooked in that pan of melted butter. Then during the last 5-minutes of baking I basted the top of the biscuits with melted butter. The result was a tender, rich, buttery biscuit that went perfectly with my homemade sausage gravy. This is now officially my keeper biscuit recipe. The only alteration I made to the ingredients was to only use as much of the milk as was needed. By this I mean that I poured a cup of milk, but I added that milk to the dough sparingly just until the dough came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DudeCanCook
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have tried many homemade biscuit recipes and this is hands down the best I have used. I used butter flavored Crisco and 1/2 buttermilk 1/2 white milk and they turned out perfect. This is now my go to recipe for big moist and fluffy biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Awesome quick biscuits nice crispy exterior with a soft flaky inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Harrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States