J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
For those who love biscuits but not butter substitute oil instead then add a little extra milk so the dough is too wet to turn. Use a large serving spoon too scoop mounds of the dough onto the baking sheet and bake for a few extra minutes. Voila, soft delicious biscuits with no butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This has become my go to biscuit recipe !!! I do not knead the dough and I mix everything with a mixer with just enough milk to start pulling away from the sides. Then I pat them out and put them right in the oven !!!! These are great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
really like this recipe as is! I have also added my own spices for a different twist or sweetened it up and either way these turn out wonderful. I don't have patience to knead and cut so I just drop em and pop em in the oven. The family loves em every time no matter what flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terri
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Wow, these were super great ! Used them on my chicken pot pie and they are big and delicious. I brushed with butter before baking. Also, don't require kneading, just rolled them in a big circle and pat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These tasted great but mine didn't rise very well. Based on the great success of all these people with this recipe, I'm sure it's something wrong on my end but I followed the recipe exactly. I will keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Good texture and size. Next time try with brushing the tops with butter and replacing some of the shortening with softened butter. It was missing the salty/buttery goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Good, fluffy/light biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These biscuits were awesome. I substituted "I can't believe it's not butter" for shortening and didn't use all the milk. Just put enough milk to make the dough stick together. I also kneaded the dough very little. They were tender and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
EXCELLENT! Everyone enjoyed it. I had to doble the recipe. It was fluffy like and moist. We had it with cream cheese. I wll make it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These are really good and definitely more for breakfast than dinner. Make sure you make them thick enough when ccutting them from the dough. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States