J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
These turned out so soft and moist. This may be my go to recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made these with butter instead of shortening and only had 1/2 cup of milk so i used half & half for the rest. Mine came out great. They rose big and tasted so good. The key to make biscuits is to cut up the butter/shortening and do not over work the dough. Handle it as little as possible and they will come out moist and big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used butter & cheddar. Did not knead, that toughens the biscuit. Only baked 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SynDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Very good! I used butter instead of shortening and I did not knead the dough at all, just mixed enough to incorporate all ingredients. In my oven they only took about 6-7 minutes to cook but came out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bill
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I give it a nein out of ten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is the beat and easiest biscuit recipe I have ever used. I love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette East

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These are amazing! The only thing that I changed was to add 1 1/2 Tablespoons of baking powder for fluffier biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Okay, I'm having a hard time rating this recipe because of the UNBELIEVABLE amount of trouble I've had with it, but the flavor is superb. I've made this multiple times, and EVERY time, I end up needing to add CUPS of flour just to make it workable, and even then, the dough is still incredibly sticky and just tears to pieces when I move it to the baking pan. And then they just NEVER get big. They look more like chips by the time they're done. However, the flavor is OUTSTANDING, I mean it--better than store bought or even restaurant made. I just need help in making these actually resemble something even similar to a biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe four times! the first time was a flip-flop-flat biscuit! it seems if you Roll them out at one inch thick, which is really thick, and i get 6 biscuits, they look like the picture, but they just are not soft on the outside. And, Honestly, I think they taste like BisQuik Drop Biscuits. I keep trying. I am a great cook. Always make everything from scratch. The picture and recipe sound like what I had in mind, but don't look or taste like what my mind had in mind. I guess maybe it's time to find a different recipe. Such a challenge it is to find MY perfect Biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
As a foreign allrecipes member I can't compare this recipe to other homemade/bought versions, but I find these buiscuits delicious! I made just one and it was just delicious as it is, I loved the buttery/soft texture. Ideal for any kind of topping as it was neigher salty nor sweet. I made it with whole wheat flour because that's all I had at hand. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States