J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Delicious and HUGE! I was skeptical of the size claim because the recipe didn't seem that different from any other biscuits I've made but these tripled in size in the oven right before my eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I have had a lot of problems finding a good biscuit recipe in the past. Either they would come out tough or they wouldn't taste right but these changed all that for me and now i use this recipe all the time. The only thing I do differently is I put half milk and half buttermilk and I make sure not to over beat the dough. Thanks JP great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra Jenkins
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I tried this for the first time this morning and they turned out soo fluffy. I did make the substitution for butter instead of shortening as other reviews mentioned. The first batch did not rise too high because I over kneaded the dough but the second batch rose beautifully. My kids ate them all up. I have to add this to my recipe collection. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Excellent and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
It's a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renida Prunty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
yum! subbed the shortening for butter as well. these turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Galbadores

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
absolutely the best Biscuit recipe of all. Easy, can't mess it up, lightly crispy on the outside and moist soft on the inside. I've tried the soda & sour cream recipe but it doesn't compare to these. If yours don't com e out right Use AP flour, Crisco shortening, and new baking powder. These are usually the reasons biscuits don't come out correctly. I've tried over 20 recipes and this is best. I'm always looking for better but I don't think this will be beat. "DON"T OVER BAKE"!!!12-13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Ogden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
i tried my own way it was good my ingriedients was 1 cup of flour 2 table spoons of water 1 cup of butter 3 table spoons of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is the first recipe I have felt compelled to rate in all my years on allrecipes. Fabulous recipe. The key to biscuits is to handle them as little as possible, as other have said. Also, make a well in the center and add half of the milk, then add half of what's left. You want to err on the side of too dry vs too moist. Finally, add the rest. I think I used slightly under the cup and mine tuned out amazing! Oh, don't use a hand mixer either. Take a fork and knife and cut the shortening in until the mix is crumbly before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
So simple.. I usually make B isquick. Biscuits for my family because of the ease, but these turn out 100% better. And they are so simple to make. Deliciously light & fluffy. Basic ingredients that I always have on hand. I saved the recipe to my cookbook and will use it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Bredfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,740) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States