J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Best biscuit recipe I've ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was a great recipe. I've tried many recipes for big and fluffy biscuits, only for them to look like a flat hockey puck. This one is great. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I used some other reviewers tips and substituted butter for the shortening and it gave the biscuits more flavor. More salt would be ok too, if you like. Also, don't pour the whole cup of milk in, it will be too much. Do like the recipe says and pour a little at a time. I'd say I used 3/4 cup of milk total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
These turned out to be delicious ...SCONES for me!! Will try again and again and again, even if they do turn out as scones, because I love them too! Thank you John! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Really good for "light" and big. I think I might use this for shortcakes for strawberries in the future. They come out slightly too light for sausage (meat) and gravy. Just personal/I just like a fuller body texture for sandwich use or gravy dishes. Biscuits or so basic that very slight ingredient variance can mean big change in results. Next time I will add a little more flour for my altitude/7000'. I just guessed with the first batch. Great dessert biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have been making these biscuits for several years. Sometimes with 50% whole wheat. I usually use butter instead of shortening (hope to try with coconut oil soon. I use for top of a pot pie also. Let sit for 30 hour after rolling out and cutting before baking- you will get a better dough and higher rise. Good with sausage gravy to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
It's a pretty standard biscuit recipe. I noticed a couple comments about them being dense - I never knead biscuits more than 5 times (my mother's admonition, "Don't mess with it too much!" echoes in my head!). Using a real biscuit cutter instead of a juice glass will help as well - a dull edge tends to seal the sides of the biscuits and keep them from raising as freely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Beer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
They didn't rise up big at all. They did taste good, though. I did everything just as the recipe said, but don't know what went wrong. I might try again. I will check my bakeing powder, to see if it is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Arden
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
These were super easy and delicious! I used unsalted butter and they were fantastic. Love the texture, and they rose like crazy!!! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Arden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is a great, simple and easy recipe with great results. I can't wait to impress the lake neighbors with these in a great summer breakfast. I'll bet these will bake up nice on a hot grill. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I realize this recipe and reviews date from years ago, but has anyone tried to use this dough to make a sticky bun breakfast ring, instead of Pillsbury Grands?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States