J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
These biscuits were sooooo good! I only changed one thing, I substituted lard for shortening because I can't have anything with soy. They turned out perfectly fluffy and flaky! Everyone in the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
These were amazing....thanks for sharing and i see no need to make any changes...will deffinitly be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
These are awesome! Used room temperature butter flavored shortening and all the milk. Placed a thick layer of flour down to knead them...gently. This isn't yeast bread you're making here people, they're biscuits. You are creating layers in the dough so they raise higher, not trying to mix it. Brushed the tops with milk before baking. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Wonderful so easy my 14year old son makes these with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Foster Hackenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mimi
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
I too come from a long line of biscuit makers and this is a pretty darn good biscuit!! The only change I would make is not knead the dough so much. Basically, turn out on board and pull together with a bit of flour,cut and keep as light as possible. I will definitely make these again. My husband can't get enough biscuits...so I'd say he's the best critic...and they were all eaten really fast! ;-) Thanks for posting this John! I'll post a picture as soon as it's available from my phone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
My favorite biscuits. I never changed a thing. For those who think they are too doughy try decreasing your milk, and for those who think they are too dense try sifting your dry ingredients. Or you could always use pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Really good. Made them along with some gravy and fried chicken and everything turned out awesome. Will make again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Best biscuit recipe I've found. We reduce the sugar just a tad but that is it. Hands down the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya McBride

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
These biscuits were awesome. I used 6T. Butter instead of the shortening, and they were big and fluffy. Don't use a rolling pin...just use your hands to pat it down. And when you use a glass or cookie cutter to cut out the biscuit, don't twist it because it will impede the rising of the biscuit. I baked them for 14 minutes. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
So good. Hard to find good biscuits...glad to find this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States