J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These biscuits turned out great. Slightly crispy top and bottom; soft all the way through. I have made these many times with a 100% success rate. These taste awesome with honey, strawberry jam, sweet potato or apple butter, blackberry preserves...almost anything spreadable, really. This is my go-to biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Thems some big biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainview, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It's probably my own fault, but the end result has been hit or miss. When they turn out they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Ewald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I will use this for the rest of my life! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
By far the best biscuit recipe ever. Perfect as-is, but sometimes I use butter instead of shortening, and they turn out perfect. They are tender, moist, light and flavorful. Just don't overwork the dough, or they will be like tasty little rocks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marchnikki
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I was craving biscuits like crazy. Unfortunately, these delicious little buggers only threw more gasoline in the fire. I followed the recipe exactly except for I used half butter and half pumpkin puree instead of shortening and skim milk with a tablespoon of vinegar instead of regular milk. Proportionally it was all the same, though, and I was shocked (pleasantly so) at how buttery they tasted. This was my first time making biscuits, and I do think I overworked them a bit. One of these days I'll make them again and try to be more gentle, and maybe use sweet potato or applesauce instead of pumpkin puree. If they are as good as they are with the puree, I can only imagine how good they are with all butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Used butter and made these to go along with the Potpourri Soup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Easy and great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I've made these several times and my family just loves them. I didn't change anything in the recipe and they come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazlehurst, Georgia, USA
Living In: Magna, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I read all the positive reviews and was excited to make these. I wish I had read the negative reviews instead because I agree with most of them. Bland and the texture wasn't good. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't work the dough too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States