J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Although I enjoyed making and tasting these biscuits, my grandmother hated them. Before I told her I made them, she said "Don't ever buy these again". After informing her that I got the recipe off of the internet, she advised me to never make them again. That being said, my children loved them and they were gone in seconds. I did like that they came out perfectly. It looked just like the picture and they are easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This recipe was SO easy to make! I'm no pro in the kitchen by far but I have made these buscuits a few times and I can't help but snap pics and brag to my sisters at my buscuits I made from scratch! I'm in my 30s so it doesn't seem like the in thing to be making things from scratch anymore which is why these simple buscuits can be so impressive when you make them! Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This was an easy resipe. I finished them off with a brush of belted butter.... My family couldn't get enough... Ill never try any other resipe they were amazing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Newman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This recipe was better than Paula Deen's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Tried this for the first time today. They turned out great! Followed the recipe mostly to the tee. Used a dash more of sugar. A smidge more of shortening. Poured milk in a little at a time. Didn't use the full cup. My 9 yr old finicky son loves them! Will make with him next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
These were great! I made them for biscuits and gravy and they are everything you want in that dish! I made as directed but scaled them up to 9 biscuits. If I were making them to eat without gravy I might use butter instead of shortening or half butter/half shortening, but the flavor was fine for biscuits and gravy since the gravy is the star of that dish. My oven tends to burn biscuits before they're done in the center and the tops never brown, so I flip them over half way through cooking and solve both problems. I did need the full 15 minutes since these are pretty thick if rolled out as the directions call for (which makes for the awesome high biscuit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great recipe didn't need amt of milk noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Noel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I have tried this and countless biscuits recipes and still couldn't make a good biscuits. All turned out dense, hard, dry. I wondered if it was the technique,I read on all the tips everywhere and still couldn't find what the problem was with such an easy recipe. Now I discovered what was wrong with all these recipes. Read the ingredient list. It doesn't include EGGS. EGGs is what will do the trick. Add 1 egg and you will be much happier with your biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilia Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
AWESOME! This is my go to! These puff up beautifully and taste delicious. The only thing I do differently is I DON'T knead the dough. Throw some honey on these while they are warm and you will have to try very hard not to eat the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Kulp
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Yep this takes a few tries (too salty the first time) but this is now a go-to recipe! These are the modifications that made it work for my family :: 2 c flour, 2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tbs sugar, 1/3 c butter, 3/4 cup milk :: Don't knead it, take it out of the bowl just after it all combines, briefly pat it into a ball and then roll it out to 1/2 inch, fold the whole thing in half before you start cutting. A large round cutter is pretty key to getting "grand" sized biscuits. This makes 5 large biscuits and 1 runt biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kulp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States