J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These was really good. I made 2 batches the first one I followed the recipe to a T. They turned out good but did not raise the way I had hoped. Second time around I made these changes. 1. I used buttermilk instead of milk. 2. DO NOT knead just mix till combined 3.let dough rest for 1-3 hours before patting out and baking. brush top with melted butter before and after baking. making these few changes made some outstanding biscuits! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Nice texture, very good fluffy soft insides and slightly crunchy, harder outside shell. I only used about 3/4 of a cup of milk. They baked for about 15-17 minutes. I also used all butter, I didn't have any shortening. They were perfect, except that they had little to no flavor. I think if you used buttermilk instead of regular milk, or normal milk instead of almond milk like I did, they would have had more flavor. Other than that they were REALLY GOOD. They also rose PERFECTLY! I made 9 biscuits instead of 6 fatter ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulene Farwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
So good! I used the advice of GBOLLER and used buttermilk 1/2 tsp baking soda and only 2 tsp baking powder. Tasty and moist as well as crumbly... MMmmm Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe! I didn't have any shortening so substituted butter. Used 1/2 milk, 1/2 half & half. They turned out light nod fluffy. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Wow! These were so good. Light and fluffy!! Will be making these again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
After making this recipe for 3 years in Colorado, I knead the dough no more than 8 times. Dough is softer and makes for fluffier biscuits. After kneading, I usually refrigerate the dough while crockpot meal is simmering. I use a rolling pin and a very large mouth glass to cut only 5 biscuits from each batch. Large and fluffy biscuits every time! No changes are made to the temp, but bake a few minutes more until tops are lightly browned. High altitude sometimes requires cooking adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTCOOKIN4TWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Fluffy and moist with a golden crust but mine turned out to have an over powering taste of baking powder so I tried another batch and reduced it to 2 teaspoons and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Nguyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
First attempt at biscuits a success! These are pretty and delicious. After reading the comments I substituted butter for shortening. I don't keep shortening in the house. I also minimized how much I played with the dough. Thanks for a great recipe. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
These biscuits are amazing! Definitely satisfied my 2am pregnancy craving and they took no time at all to prep and bake. I also used butter instead of shortening, only because I don't have any at the moment, and they're great. I have a feeling my husband will wake up and I'll have to make 6 more. If you have a house full of biscuit lovers like us, treat yourself and double the recipe! Thanks for sharing this recipe. You have made a prego and her baby very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Very good! Rubbed a little butter on top at the end of baking. Taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States