J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I made theses a lot and the only changes I made were I used butter instead of shorting it taste better with butter. I also added pepper and parsley no other changes my bf loves them so much I'm happy I found this recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I love my Momma's buttermilk biscuits, but these are even better! Shhh..don't tell her! Love the big biscuits with such an airy texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Good recipe, my family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connorsmommy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Best biscuit recipe of all time! Made it exactly as it is written, but only cooked for 11 min. I have a brand new oven and I think it is a little hotter or something, so watch them! Over the past 9 years of my marriage I have tried NUMEROUS biscuit recipes and seriously my husband came in and thought they were those Frozen Pillsbury biscuits (His favorite). They were so fluffy and had LAYERS. I probably didn't pat them out thick enough because I made 11 biscuits not 6, (Probably why they didn't take as long to cook) but still awesome. So much better than refrigerator biscuits! Can't say anything bad about this recipe really. Do NOT use a ROLLING PIN on biscuit dough- I have learned that from reading many recipes, just use your hands to pat the dough out. Also be sure you are using a fork or even better a pastry blender to add the shortening. Seriously- best biscuits ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin DeHart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Note to self, next time... MAKE MORE BISCUITS!!! These came out so well my kids were fighting over the last one :) the only change I made was to use butter instead shortening. 2 thumbs up, these are my new go to biscuits:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Whitehurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
A great recipe! I use this all the time. I use a bit less milk and a bit more sugar, and I substitute butter for the shortening. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This recipe is fabulous. I brushed the tops with butter as soon as they came out of the oven, and they were delicious. They took slightly longer to bake in my oven (everything does), but they were done in 20 minutes. I cut twelve biscuits instead of six, and they still rose fine. If you only made a half dozen they would rise HUGE (not a bad thing!). :) You don't want to knead this dough like you would bread dough. I just pat mine down into a 1" round and cut out the biscuits. The more you handle biscuit or pastry dough, the denser and grosser it gets when it bakes. If you try to knead it, you'll end up with hockey pucks. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
LACTOSE FREE VERSION!!! my daughter is lactoce free and so we made this recipe as is and only traded the butter for Coconut oil and then traded the milk for coconut milk. THEY WERE AMAZING!!! they had a little coconut flavour to them but we all loved it!! We used full fat coconut milk and had I did add a little more than what milk was called for but I dont think it was neessary. Also we baked ours in a muffin pan and used liners so they were like muffin biscuits. Simply droped the dough the liners with a spoon so it was super easy and mess free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I have never been successful making biscuits until now! This is an awesome recipe. I don't think I kneaded enough because they barely rise. It didn't matter with the taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
J.P.'s recipe is our go-to recipe for biscuits. They are everything a biscuit should be and since the wife does not ever deviate from a recipe (no food imagination), we get consistently good biscuits every time she makes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States