J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Emil Peter
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
First time I made these I rolled the dough too thin and ended up with delicious, but not too fluffy biscuits. So I'm making them again and we're all excited to have them with some bacon and eggs. Definitely great flavor and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emil Peter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Light and fluffy if you don't over-mix or knead too much. My new go-to biscuit recipe. Want to spice it up? Add cheese and pepper or herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathryn Aune

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great recipe!! Very simple and tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
i love it they came out good but a whole cp of milk made it to sticky all thou it is raining here today so could be all the moisture in the air too i used butter flavored shorting gave it great flavor !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Priest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Baking is not a strong skill for me. This was the first time I made them, and they came out light and tasty. I only had skim milk in the house, but I always have plain non-fat Greek yogurt, so I whisked about 1/4 cup of that in with the skim milk (I wanted to give the milk a little more depth). And the biscuits were delicious! When I make them next time, I just might put rosemary in them for a little more flavor. I will definitely keep making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Salvation from years of turning out tasty hockey pucks, FINALLY!! Thank you for posting this recipe. These are amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy French-Haley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pumkin
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These are great! I followed the recipe exactly how it stated the first time I made them and they tasted great- family loved them. Then I decided to try with butter and less/no kneading and I didn't care for their texture or taste. I love them just as the recipe descripes. Thank you for a great receipe that I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
After reading the comments, I decided to add onion powder, garlic powder and a bit of grated cheese - delicious! Next time i will try sautéing onion and garlic and adding it. One thing to remember when making biscuits - DO NOT twist the biscuit cutter back and forth as it prevents the biscuits from rising as much as they would if you just press the cutter into the dough and slightly move the cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Calder Standage
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Made one batch with butter and milk (browned more) and another with lard and almond milk. both are excellent but prefer the butter/milk a little more. Next time will use butter/almond milk combo. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I have been making these biscuits for the past few months and my family loves them. They are extremely easy to make and they compliment many of my meal choices beautifully. Stuffed Roast Chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Phandazzle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States