J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
ok, I come from a family of very picky biscuit lovers. I looked all summer for a soft big biscuit and have FOUND IT ! I don't see why people have had problems with these. They are great and i make them all the time. I do substitute butter or margarine for the shortning, better flavor. For those who didn't get the desired results -- Try these tips: 1.Don't overmix the dough once you add the milk and only pat together (no real "kneading" or they will be tough). 2.only add the amount of milk you need, some days i have to use it all and then others i have a little left in the cup. 3. make sure the shortning or butter is cold 4.can brush with melted butter before and/or after baking for added softness and flavor and 5. can place closer together if yours still aren't soft Hope these help and thank you so much JP !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2834 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Very good! I make them with half whole wheat flour and half all purpose, and I use butter instead of shortening (I like to avoid trans fats). This is the biscuit recipe I added to my permanent file. **If you're new to biscuits, remember - any time you make biscuits (or scones or anything else that uses baking powder or soda to rise) you want to gently mix the dough JUST until the ingredients are all mixed-- don't maul it or knead it. The more you handle your dough the more the gluten develops and the tougher your biscuits (or pie crust, etc.) will be. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1921 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Mandy14 - The instructions say to knead 14-14 TIMES, NOT 14-15 minutes! The object is to handle the dough as little as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These biscuits had a great texture, rose beautifully and were so easy to make. The only drawback was that they were bland and definitely had a slight baking powder taste. I made them a second time and substituted cultured buttermilk powder (4 TBS Saco brand) + 1 c. water in place of the milk; dropped the baking powder back to 2 tsp; and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Oh my goodness....perfection....so flavorful and soft and fluffy! Absolutely the best I've ever made or eaten -- and I'm a southern girl who knows what a really great biscuit should be! :) JP, your recipe is a winner -- thank you so much! With the minor changes I mentioned, this will forever be my one and only biscuit recipe! If anyone else wants to try the changes, you can use liquid buttermilk instead of the powder if you'd like, but the powder always seems to give me better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1082 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Excellent recipe ! Being a single guy -no shortening or milk in the fridge, I used butter and a cup of beer. Go ahead and laugh, but they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
988 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
These are exceptionally good. Very similar to my mom's "baking powder biscuits", but these are moister then hers. I made the "creamed chicken over biscuits" recipe from this site to go with these. My 16 month old son loved it, he said mmmmm and clapped his hands. I cut out 6, and didn't get "Grand Biscuit" size as stated. I also only needed to use 3/4 c. milk instead of 1 c.. My mom says that the barometer affects how your biscuits turn out, (works the same with anything with yeast, such as bread) so, if it's raining or very humid, they won't rise as well. If it's hot and dry, they should rise beautifully. So I kind of go by that when I am adding the liquid and flour (amounts). After you've made enough biscuits, you can tell how their going to turn out by how the (uncooked) dough looks and feels. I was thinking about the post that said they turned out dry on the outside and moist inside, if they seem very hard, then I would think possibly, they were cooked at too high a temp. and/or were left in too long. Because my oven is very hot, I always turn it down by 25 degrees, and never assume that the time stated is going to be "perfect" for my oven, so I checked these after 10 minutes, and then watched them 2 to 3 minutes after. Anyway, you should enjioy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
557 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Simple and tasty! One tip though...don't knead the dough! Kneading this mixing with produce a tough textured biscuit. Mix it just till it holds together...pat into a 1 1/2 inch thick circle...then cut out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
Thanks to J.P., I can finally make biscuits after 10 years of trying different recipes and mixes. I would suggest for those people who want more flavor to use buttermilk instead of reg. milk. I also used additional baking powder (about 1&1/2 tablespoons). I also suggest baking them on the top rack of the oven if you are like me and your biscuits always brown on the bottoms and not the tops. They really do rise more if you prepare the dough several hours ahead and refrigerate until time to make them. I mixed up the dough the night before I planned to have them for breakfast. They turned out almost identical to the biscuits at the ever popular fried chicken restaurant. Fantastic, only I have to watch out or I will gain a ton of weight. I could eat them for three meals a day plus snacks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I made these to go under the sausage gravy I planned to make for my kids' dinner. (They get to pick dinner on Sunday nights when Dad is not home.) Pretty cut and dry. Really similar to Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits. I also used half all purpose and half whole wheat and ended up using the whole cup of milk. Mine did make five big biscuits and one medium sized one I shaped with my hand. (I used the top of my husband's beer glass, which worked perfectly.) I cooked mine for about 12 minutes. They turned out well, although I think I overhandled my dough. Not bad. Suited my needs. Thanks, J.P.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Easy, easy, easy so if you think you can't make biscuits these are for you! They look like you spent hours. Like others, I used butter or butter flavored shortening and 3/4 cup of milk. My husband had the nerve to ask where I bought these! Oh well, I guess I'll have to teach him how to make these......(they're that easy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States