J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
After reading the comments, I decided to add onion powder, garlic powder and a bit of grated cheese - delicious! Next time i will try sautéing onion and garlic and adding it. One thing to remember when making biscuits - DO NOT twist the biscuit cutter back and forth as it prevents the biscuits from rising as much as they would if you just press the cutter into the dough and slightly move the cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Calder Standage
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Made one batch with butter and milk (browned more) and another with lard and almond milk. both are excellent but prefer the butter/milk a little more. Next time will use butter/almond milk combo. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I have been making these biscuits for the past few months and my family loves them. They are extremely easy to make and they compliment many of my meal choices beautifully. Stuffed Roast Chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Phandazzle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Finally, a light and fluffy biscuit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very easy to make! I am 41 years old and have tried making biscuits many times with no success until I made these! Now I make them and freeze so I can just pop them in the oven when I need a couple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Halsey Roberts
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I really like making these but sometimes they come out a little to sticky but a little more flour and you are good to go. Biggest tip is to not roll them to flat for fluffy biscuits and don't knead the dough to much just a tiny bit like maybe 2-4 times is all it takes. These were made with the help of my 5 years old and he says they are the best:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halsey Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
for some reason my mixture came out very wet. i kept adding flour till it pulled off the sides. not a bad tasting biscuit but i gotta keep looking. they just don't do it for me. not tall enough and they crumble when you try and slice them to butter them. has anyone tried making the batter the night before? any other tricks? I'll give that a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Norton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly. Turned out well! I didn't bother cutting the dough nicely; just approximated 6 equal pieces. We had these buttered with soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
So good!!! Easy to make!!! My five year old and I had so much fun making and eatting the biscuits!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These biscuits were SO good! I used butter instead of shortening and served them with chef John's chicken and biscuit recipe. Awesome combination. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 2,823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States