J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I use COLD butter instead of shortening and buttermilk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Perfect biscuits. I was out of shortening when I made these... Substituted half butter half bacon fat. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
These turned out so soft and moist. This may be my go to recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made these with butter instead of shortening and only had 1/2 cup of milk so i used half & half for the rest. Mine came out great. They rose big and tasted so good. The key to make biscuits is to cut up the butter/shortening and do not over work the dough. Handle it as little as possible and they will come out moist and big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used butter & cheddar. Did not knead, that toughens the biscuit. Only baked 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SynDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Very good! I used butter instead of shortening and I did not knead the dough at all, just mixed enough to incorporate all ingredients. In my oven they only took about 6-7 minutes to cook but came out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is the beat and easiest biscuit recipe I have ever used. I love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette East

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These are amazing! The only thing that I changed was to add 1 1/2 Tablespoons of baking powder for fluffier biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The flavor is superb. I end up needing to add CUPS of flour just to make it workable, and even then, the dough is still incredibly sticky and just tears to pieces when I move it to the baking pan. And then they just NEVER get big. They look more like chips by the time they're done. However, the flavor is OUTSTANDING, I mean it--better than store bought or even restaurant made. I just need help in making these actually resemble something even similar to a biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The picture and recipe sound like what I had in mind, but don't look or taste like what my mind had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kelleher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States