J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Good when short on time and ingredients. I sift my flour, salt and baking powder together so its well incorporated. Great for stews or gravy. I also used margarine rather than shortening since that's what I had. I don't bother cutting round ones, just pat out the dough and cut squares with a sharp knife. No left over dough or over-worked dough that way so always tender!! Great and simple baking powder biscuits when I don't have stuff for my buttermilk recipe. Wonderful when teaching an 8yr old how to bake! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Incredible!! Like some others, I swapped butter for the shortening and used 1/2 cup of wheat flour...but man-o-man these are tasty and fluffy with just a touch of crisp on the outside as you bite in! DO only use as much milk as needed (I ended up with a few tablespoons left over) DO NOT mess with the dough too much -- that will ruin even the best recipe! Thank you John for a wonderful recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very good basic biscuit recipe. I stepped it up a notch to suit my families taste buds. I melted a few tbsp butter, stirred in some garlic salt and added 1 clove chopped garlic. After one puts their own personal tasty touch to it enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was great! One thing I did was sift the dry ingredients together, I also cooked then in a greased hot cast iron skillet. They turned out perfect. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Very easy to make and were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was absolutely delightful. What a great base biscuit recipe. I whipped these up this afternoon for the first time ever. I didn't knead it at all, just kind of pressed it together and shaped it into a rough rectangle and cut them into squares. I added some shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheeses to it. The possibilities are endless. Raisins and cinnamon.. dried cranberries and orange peel... diced ham, cheese and chives. Next time I might even try them plain, I'm sure they're wonderful that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is the best recipe ever. They are very fluffy and awesomely good. My family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Butter buttermilk no salt and 2/3-3/4 cup milk. I cook these in my iron skillet greased with bacon grease. It adds so much flavor and much better than shortening. Recipe is a keeper, wonderful biscuits. Thanks for the recipe. Hot Tennessee Pride sausage( yes it does matter) and gravy biscuits are just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Yes I did and it was the best I have ever made! mine always turn out flat and hard! But not theses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita Morton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Khristine
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I used all butter (grated in, frozen.) I prefer the dough to be slightly wet and do all my mixing/kneading in the bowl with a spatula. I turn the sticky dough onto a floured surface and sprinkle it with flour and roll it quickly into a thin sheet. I followed another review and folded the sheet over once (if its too sticky, just use a knife or bench scraper to help it over.) Then use a floured cookie cutter to cut out 8 med. sized biscuits placed spaced apart in a foil lined cookie sheet. Brush melted butter on top of each and baked mine for about 12 mins. always checking after the 1st 10 mins. Oh, I also bake them on a rack moved up to the second highest level otherwise the bottoms get too brown before the tops get a chance to. Very delicious! Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States