J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
i tried my own way it was good my ingriedients was 1 cup of flour 2 table spoons of water 1 cup of butter 3 table spoons of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is the first recipe I have felt compelled to rate in all my years on allrecipes. Fabulous recipe. The key to biscuits is to handle them as little as possible, as other have said. Also, make a well in the center and add half of the milk, then add half of what's left. You want to err on the side of too dry vs too moist. Finally, add the rest. I think I used slightly under the cup and mine tuned out amazing! Oh, don't use a hand mixer either. Take a fork and knife and cut the shortening in until the mix is crumbly before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
So simple.. I usually make B isquick. Biscuits for my family because of the ease, but these turn out 100% better. And they are so simple to make. Deliciously light & fluffy. Basic ingredients that I always have on hand. I saved the recipe to my cookbook and will use it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Bredfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
These were great! Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I have been remiss in rating this recipe. These are the very best biscuits ever, and they are the ONLY ones I make. I have tried others, but always come back to this recipe. I don't use a cutter or glass to form the biscuits though. I just use a knife and cut them into squares - saves time, don't have to re-roll to use up the dough, and doesn't effect the final biscuit. Thanks J. P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These biscuits turned out absolutely wonderful! I've been making these biscuits everyday since Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I followed the recipe as is and the end product was thick, fluffy, tasty biscuits just as I'd hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheral Foster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for, and they were the tallest biscuits I've ever seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This recipe isn't bad but doesn't have the snappy biscuit taste of bakewell cream biscuits. I'm staying with the old standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have made these several times and have loved them everytime. This has become the standard recipe in my biscuit making. I am attempting to prepare them the night before currently and will see if they turn out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States