JIF® Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
followed the recipe to the T. I questioned the amt. of vanilla but figured there must be a good reason why the 1 tbsp. Don't cut down on the vanilla...this amt. makes the cookie! I used a good Mexican vanilla and it really combined so well with the p.b. They are soft and light with a slight crispy edge. Thanks for the advice regarding not overbaking. They will not look done when you take them out but you can see them brown slightly around the edges right before your eyes as you let them sit on the sheet for a minute or two. Easy to slide right off the sheet without any greasy taste. Lovely cookie but if you have a houseful of cookie monsters, you might want to double the batch. This made 54 cookies with the pampered chef small size scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Unlike the other users, I found this recipe not at all appealing. The cookies tasted like I put a spoonful of salt in my mouth. Perhaps the salt measurement was incorrectly typed at the website? 3/4 tsp. is a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Excellent! Have been using this recipe for years and they always come out perfect. Wonderful presentation and texture (they actually make me look like an accomplished baker). Suggest following the recipe including the 1T vanilla (great flavor), the crisco (don't use butter-it takes away from the texture). Cookies will not look finished after 7-8 min but take them out anyway. Suggested add: milk chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
FANTASTIC RECIPE!!! I made this recipe to a T except I increased the PB to a full cup. These are the best pb cookies ever, perfect taste!! Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. This will become our familys new PB cookie recipe. I also sprinkled mine with sugar. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slater, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
super yummy… wow they are just so good with a nice glass of milk… i love this recipe…and really, it doesn't matter if you use butter or the butter flavor crisco stick… cause im in the middle east stationed here… and our base store does have that… so i got along just well without it and i used butter… still tastes really good…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesseph85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
These cookies were fantastic! They truly tasted like something I had as a child in my great grandmothers kitchen. If your craving old fashioned peanut butter cookies these are great. I used real butter in place of the shortening and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I loved them !!! Pulled them out of the oven , cooled for 2 minutes and they melted in my mouth. Can't wait til the Hubby gets home to try them out , he is going to be the real test. This is one recipe I will never lose. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening and added a spoonful extra of peanut butter , plus about 2 tablespoons extra flour , but only if ya add the extra peanut butter . Thanks for the reviews , your comments helped me to Bake the BEST Peanut Butter cookies EVER !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Well, I'm just going to have to join the rest of the rave reviews this recipe has already gotten! The reviews previous to mine are all absolutely correct in their assessment of these being the best peanut butter cookies I have ever had! I have been using a family recipe on my husband's side for peanut butter cookies for years and had to admit that I was very nervous to try something new, knowing my husband absolutely loves the peanut butter cookies from the old recipe, but I threw caution to the wind, and BOY am I glad I did! Wow! These cookies have been sitting on the table all day long and they are still soft and fresh!(The old recipe cookies would have been as hard as rocks by now.) I didn't have JIF peanut butter, but the peanut butter I did have worked fine. These are truly wonderful cookies and it will replace the old family recipe. :) Thank you so much for sharing this recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
The cookies dont look done after 7-8 minutes but take them out anyways. These are good cookies but not a sweet cookie like I thought they would be. I love the chewy texture though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This recipe was outstanding! I read other reviews before I tried and boy was I in for a treat! My batch yield 3 dozen and my kids and husband downed them all!!! I increased the peanut butter to 1c and added sprinkled sugar to the tops after I crossed them! This have to be THE BEST COOKIE RECIPE EVER!!!!! Next time I am going to try Crunchy Peanut Butter! Absolutley irresistable! Watch out milk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States