JG's Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I can't believe I haven't rated this before now. My family loves this stew. It has become an annual St. Patrick's meal, along with Guinness cupcakes. No changes required. Sometimes I'll buy bone-in chops, brown the bone with the meat, and simmer the stew with the bone to get the rich marrow flavor as well. It's definitely not a requirement, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This was perfect for a chilly day. I had some leftover flat milk stout and this was perfect way to use it. I added a couple sweet potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I totally skipped all the directions and threw all the ingredients in the pressure cooker. Omitted rutebaga and mushrooms added a few more carrots and potatoes. Used sweet white onion, fire roasted tomatoes with garlic and 2 T rosemary garlic seasoning mix. Oh yeah, also shortcut with the beef stock, just added 5 cubes beef bouillon and water to cover instead of stock. No beer on hand, but added 1 c. White wine. Also bought quick barley by mistake but it was fine. Delicious and a nice change from the usual beef stew I make this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Boyd Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This was really good, even after I made a bunch of alterations. I didn't know I was making this until I decided to make it at like 5:30 pm. Lol. Anyway, no Guinness/equivalent, so I used a hawaiian IPA. Used dried herbs. Boyfriend can't have onion or garlic; subbed chives and a drizzle of garlic flavored oil. Didn't have called for tomatoes; used rehular canned ones. Boyfriend also can't have barley, so I subbed in rice. Didn't have a rutabaga (& don't personally care for rutabaga in general), so I subbed in about 1/4 of a celeriac. I didn't even need to thicken the stew. It's so good my boyfriend went out of his way to walk across the house and tell me. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Bushman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Outstanding!! This was not only my first experience cooking with lamb, but it was my first time every eating lamb. I wanted a hearty stew to serve 8 guests that we were having over for dinner. This one looked the most appetizing and the ingredients were mostly things I had on hand, with the exception of the lamb and the rutagaga. This meal was a huge hit, from the very minute everyone walked in and inhaled the incredible aroma coming from he kitchen. I would make this again in a heartbeat and I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks, JG, for making my first taste of lamb such a memorable one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great taste and ingredient list. I forewent the rutabaga because i didnt have it on hand. I would be interested in finding a less labor intensive way to prepare. Maybe by using a slow cooker. I will play with this recipe again but taste 5* steps/work/wait 3*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this tonight. It was really excellent. I made the following modifications: I used 3lbs of bone-in lamb stew meat. I put the salt and pepper into a Ziploc bag with 1/2 cup of flour and shook the meat cubes in it and knocking off the excess before browning in the bacon drippings. I omitted the tomatoes and oregano. I used 1/2 the amount of mushrooms and 1/2 the amount of barley. I used very small baby red potatoes which I left whole rather than cubing. I added 1/2 cup of home-made demiglace when I put in the broth, for color and richness. For the thickening slurry at the end I used some of the leftover seasoned dredging flour to mix with the reserved Guinness. 2 tablespoons was enough since the barley has some thickening action. The lamb got so tender most of it fell of the bones making it easier to eat. My girlfriend's mother came to dinner and had seconds, which is rare for her. Even with 3 of us eating two servings each, we have plenty of leftovers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is very tasty. Enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was excellent! We left out the rutabagas and added a bit more potato. We also used some San Marzano tomatoes we had on hand instead of the fire roasted tomatoes. And, we used dried herbs instead of fresh, as we also already had those on hand. We did not add the flour at the end, but the broth still had a nice thickness from the barley. We used a nice coffee porter from a local brewery instead of Guiness. All in all very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Farnsworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My husband gave me grief about buying lamb because it's so expensive where we live, but after having this stew he asked me to make it again 2 days later, but with even more lamb. It was a huge hit with everyone, will be making this again & again! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States