JELL-O® Pastel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Just like I remember! I only use one pkg of Jello in the cookie dough and sprinkle lightly with sugar if desired. These work great with a cookie Press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My mom makes these every year at Christmas with a cookie press and they are awesome! I LOVE this recipe. Just like mom makes :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are fun little cookies--would be good with kids bc they are easy but have some fun little steps--like the flattening, that would be a good project for the little ones. They are a soft, firm cookie,with a bit of a tang from the jello, and if you don't press them down they would probably stay puffed up--they really didn't spread at all. I skipped a step by dipping the bottom of my glass in the reserved jello and then getting the additional color that way. I used lime jello for the cookies themselves then mixed fruit for the reserved jello so I could get red and green cookies for Christmas. It worked out pretty well, although I should've paid attention to the one reviewer who used food coloring--while the mixed fruit deepened to red from baking, the green is rather pale--pastel, exactly like the name of the recipe. So next time I'd probably add a bit more food coloring to the dough. Also, probably bc I dipped the glass in the reserved jello, I still have a lot of mixed fruit jello left over. I think I'll make another batch with it and decorate with icing or colored sugar instead of more jello. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I heard women in a chat room 3 years ago talking about Jell-o Cookies so I came to Allrecipe to find our how to make them. This is the first year I made them for our church bake sale. WOW a hit and them some. Thank you Jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have had this recipe for years also but I have made them through a cookie press (like spritz) and it was a huge success. Everyone loves these. Make the recipe and then use your cookie press and u don't have to color them for Christmas or any other holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My mother has been making these since I was little (Im 32!) and now I make them too. I also use the Super Shooter and use lime flavor and black cherry flavor, those seem to work the best. Oh, and strawberry banana is pretty good too. I catch hell if I dont bring a batch to work with me during the holiday season!! FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My grandmother passed this recipe down to me from her mother. These cookies are a family tradition. For those who said that they were dry or tasted funny, try baking them for just a little shorter time. As far as the taste, try a different Jell-o flavor (we use a lot of lime, lemon and strawberry). It is amazing the neat colors and flavors you can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Mixed these by hand, as per another reviewer's suggestion to avoid flat cookies, but they baked incredibly flat anyway. I was so excited to make these, but I am very disappointed. I could barely scrape them off of my (air-bake) cookie sheets. So Sad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These are great. The kids loved them, we loved them, everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very easy for the kids to make! Especially liked the idea of making candy cane shapes! I had too much dough so I rolled the extra into tubes and refrigerated. Now I can just pull that out and slice a pan full of cookies to be made fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States