It's Chili by George!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
If you make it in the slow cooker it comes out too soupy. I'd recommend using half as much of the tomato juice if you're doing the slow cooker. I transferred mine to a pot and let it simmer to thicken it up. It is tasty and incredibly easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My go-to chili recipe. With 3 in the house that do not like chunky chili, this is by far the only recipe they gobble up immediately. Flavorful, smooth, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this for a large gathering of people, I tripled the recipe and reduced the tomato juice to just 1 can and added 1 tbs of cocoa powered and no salt....and the compliments were huge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe is outstanding! My first time making chili and it was DELICIOUS. I added two cans of drained diced tomatoes, two cans of pinto beans, and one can of kidney beans. I also added a little more cayenne pepper. Top with cheese and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This has been my go to recipe for chili for several years now. Quick and simple. I have a small family so I split the recipe and serve only half and freeze the rest for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidre522

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Loved the recipe. The tomato juice definitely gave it a distinct flavor. i did add a lot more chili powder and cayenne to give it more flavor. Also I used less tomato juice then suggest so it wouldn't come out so watery. I will probably use less juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
a bit too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was a great recipe. I used ground turkey and added honey to the meat while it was cooking to give it a hint of the sweet without using sugar. I also added habenaro peppers and a red pepper as well. I also added a bit of cumin, basil and onion powder. Oh and I used V8 for the tomato juice; threw is some stewed tomatoes, and bam!... and it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gonepostal2long
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I found this recipe years ago. I've been using it ever since. I use 1 lb lean beef and 1 lb ground turkey. Everyone loves it. No one even knows it has ground turkey in it. It lightens it up and gives it that something special. It try to vary it sometimes. Even though it really doesn't need it. Tonight I put in canned chopped jalapeños instead of green peppers. Left out the cayenne pepper also. I am very happy I found this recipe! Love love love it! This is a photo of it while it was 30 mins into simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States