Italiano Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
My boyfriend demanded to know why I hadn't cooked this for him before and where I'd learned to make it. Haha. This was really basic recipe that tasted delicious. I didn't have the Italian herbs so I used fresh basil and cracked pepper instead. I'll definitely be making this again - maybe even for the in-laws if they're lucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Great recipe! Followed it as-is except for the tomatoes - I didn't see the point in opening a whole can of diced tomatoes for 1 Tablespoon so I just used a regular tomato and diced it. Easy, simple and delicious meal. Might try rubbing the chicken with garlic powder, salt and pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was AMAZING. So easy to make. The only thing I will do differently next time is to cook the rice for a while ahead of time so its tender and add some more tomatoes. Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I used a full can of tomatoes, diluted cream of chicken soup instead of chicken broth, and after adding the cheese, I put a large handful of fresh spinach just before the chicken. All three of my men (ages 30, 5, and 1) LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Quick, very easy and tasty! Most people said the used the whole can of tomatoes...Me too, but to offset the extra tomatoes, I used extra rice as well. Which then needs a little extra liquid, so I didn't drain the tomatoes, and for a little zip a splash of vinegar(little goes a long way). Also people suggested seasoning the chicken, try adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzero29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breezy Point, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Excellent dish! Needed a little tweaking ... I used a whole can (partially drained) of diced tomatoes and added more rice and more broth. I also used brown rice, because that was what I had at home. It was unbelievably delicious, though it took a long time to cook the rice (which I did separately from the chicken per the suggestion of other reviewers) and it ended up burning a bit and sticking to the pan. But, overall, the dish is outstanding. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe that can be quicker by using can chicken breast. I also added fresh basil and some red wine to intensify the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VinellaGal2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I added a bit of sour cream and white wine to give this dish more flavour. Quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
The original recipe was very good. The second time I made it I lightly seasoned the chicken w/ salt,pepper, & the Italian seasoning. Cut it into 1 in. chunks, covered it & cooked it on med. heat w/ the minced garlic & a dash of lemon juice for 10 min. before browning it. I then added a whole can of diced tomatoes plus 1/2 a med. onion rough cut, 2 cups chicken broth, 1 cup rice, & 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. Brought it to a boil, then let it simmer for 20 min. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good recipe. I sauteed onions with the chicken and garlic and added a half can of tomatoes instead of a tbsp. It's a great simple recipe that you can easily tweak to make your own. Will absolutely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States