Italian Wine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This recipe does not work. Tried it twice and no results. Dough is way to wet even at only two cups. Then tried adding mord flour and at 3/4 cup gave up. When cooked in oil we tried some for 10 minutes and even then although outside was crisp inside was wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Thank you, I have been searching for this recipe for 7 years. It was a Christmas tradition to make Italian Wine cookies since I was a child. This one of the easiest and most deliciousest cookies I know. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Thank you, again. Tejani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
thank you sooooooo much!!! I have searched for more years than I care to reveal. this is like bringing my Nana back to me.... Hugs to you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Awful. I cut down the water to less than 1/2 a cup, and still had to knead in more flour to make the dough workable. The worst part though, was that it *exploded* in the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
this is and old recipe that my grandma made for years her mother past this down to her and she past it my mom and my mom gave it to me the only thing differant is that she makes hers with shortening not oil so that the dough is not to wet and fryes up nice she has this old ceader board that has riges in it and rolls them like a cavatt i hope that the people that has had a hard time with this recipe will try it one more time with the shortening good luck and happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've been looking for this recipe for a while now, but I'm confused on the the amount of oil. The recipe calls for 2 1/2 cups of veg. oil and then a quart for frying, but it doesn't tell you when to add the 2 1/2 cups of veg. oil. Was there a typo or am I really blind?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These cookies are interesting and I couldn't eat just one! Just the right amount of sweetness and wine. I'm going to try them out at a party with the appetizers. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Please do not add water. Just bring oil and wine to a boil, add a pinch of salt to flour and mix with oil and wine mixture, fry and coat with honey. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
these were much better the day after I made them. The honey needs to soak into the cookie, otherwise they taste too bitter. My grandmother from Italy used to make these around the holidays, and my dad said they taste just like hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe today and because of the way it is written, it was a disaster. Didn't know whether to add the 2 1/2 cups of oil to the mixture. It doesn't say to add it to the mixture and I didn't. Therefore, it was very dry evn though I added the extra 1/2 cup of water. They were very hard after frying. What a shame to waste all that good wine and time. I guess I was supposed to add that oil. However, I would think that would make it very wet as another person said. Afraid to ever try it again, although I had fond memories of them. Wonder if I could have salvaged the dough by adding some oil after it was mixed. Oh well, you win some and lose some. Just wanted to let others know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States