Italian White Bean and Pancetta Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is a phenomenal recipe! I add just a tiche of fresh nutmeg just before serving. During the Fall, this is the recipe that I make big batches so I can freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I used the canned beans method and was very pleased with the outcome. I used a little extra sage and 8 oz. of pancetta instead of the 6 ounces called for, to jump up the flavor. I also used low sodium chicken broth since i had that already on hand (I don't think the extra couple of bucks would have been able to better this tasty soup). I paired it with some garlic sesame breadsticks i bought from Viviano's on The Hill. This makes for an easy, inexpensive, zestful dish i will be making all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Pecoraro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I love this soup. I make it once a month during the winter. I leave out the salt and even use low salt broth and it seems have more than enough flavor. Wonderful for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I didn't use sage because I don't care for that flavor. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. This is a delicious, hearty soup -- perfect for a cool Fall day. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
For a crockpot version, soak beans overnight. Saute pancetta, onions, celery and sage in a frypan and deglaze with 1/3 cup of white wine and add everything into a crockpot and cook all day on low. Whole wheat pasta optional. (but makes a complete protein). Try adding fresh rosemary for a tuscan twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: La Prairie, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Like others I add chopped carrot to this recipe for flavor and color. I also use an immersion blender to partially puree the soup after about 20 minutes of cooking - then I add the pasta to the mix so everything finishes cooking at the same time. I've made this several times over the past 2 months and it always disappears fast - my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Fabulous taste. Used 8 ounces of pancetta and reduced the olive oil. It still was a tad greasy and next time, I will reduce to just a few drops. Used one can of Great Northern beans and a Tuscan bean medley from Trader Joe's (also one can). Came together very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Just ok....Not my favorite...I only used 2 cans of white beans and thought that it was way too much. The pancetta was kinda of like soggy bacon once it was added with the broth. The flavor was ok...I thought it was a bit greasy tasting. Probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was a great soup that my sweetie and I cooked. We used low sodium broth and less beans. Also added garlic and oregano. Bow-tie pasta and tortilinis put a nice spin on this soup. Thanks for the recipes and tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This tasted really wonderful but I think it had too much salt (and I used a low sodium chicken broth). Also, too many beans (and I like beans). But, I loved the taste (pancetta is so good, sub bacon if you can't find it) and I'll make again. I also used macaroni because that's what I had on hand and I just added it the last ten minutes of cooking, without boiling it in another pan. Thanks for sharing! Merry Christmas everyone!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States