Italian Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I made this recipe in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warm water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the remaining ingredients. I used whole wheat white flour and I did not add the full amount of salt, a heaping teaspoon was plenty for me. I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for five minutes (this dough did need a little more flour than what was called for to get the dough to form a solid ball and stop sticking to the bottom of the mixer bowl), then set it to rise for an hour in a greased, covered bowl. After it doubled, I formed rolls using my 1/3 cup measuring cup and plopped them into greased muffin tins, covered it with saran wrap and let them double again. Baked at 400*, these were done in just under 14 minutes. I brushed them with oil straight out of the oven. GINORMOUS rolls. Really. They were huge. The flavor was very nice and the rolls were not too sweet but also fluffy and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I always wanted to try my hand at making rolls. This recipie intrigued me. I tried it and in all the 25 years of cooking for my wife and me, I came up with a great result on the first attempt. Tasty, light, satisfying either with a meal or with cheese and wine, they are a hlt. The best part is that it is healthy. Looking forward to more or these recipies. Thank you. olewinemaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I adapted this for my bread machine and made it with all whole wheatflour, and it was pretty good. Here is what I did, for anyone who is interested. First, I had to halve the recipe so it would fit in my machine. I used a little over a cup of warm water instead of using the boiling water. I used all whole wheat flour instead whole wheat and bread flour. Then I just adding everything in the order suggested by my bread machine instructions, set it to the "dough" cycle, and then followed steps 4 and 5 from the recipe. The rolls turned out really tasty, light, and fluffy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. I halved the recipe, used all whole wheat flour and made 6 larger sized sandwich buns. I let them rise for almost two hours and they turned out great! This is the only recipe I will ever use from now on for all my rolls and buns. Will even try making loaves with it. So light and full of flavor. Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I love the subtle flavor the olive oil adds to these light and tender wheat rolls. I made the recipe exactly as stated using a high quality, first cold press olive oil, but I did halve the recipe. The dough is sticky so expect to add about ¼ cup of flour during the kneading process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Fantastic! Very soft and fluffy. I really like that they are made with olive oil. To make them even more nutritious, I did an even mix of whole wheat and white flour (i.e. 3cup/3cup); next time I will do 4c whole wheat and 2c white to see if that works. Wonderful rolls!!! My new favorite recipe. UPDATE: I've had great results making these using 4c whole wheat / 2c white! Still very light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe. I halved the recipe, then made 6 large sandwich-size rolls instead of 12 dinner rolls. They were a touch dense, but nothing a little extra rising time for larger rolls wouldn't cure. My mistake. Anyway, the rolls were SO tasty all on their own, but with some pulled chicken and barbeque sauce, they were DIVINE! This is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Loved the flavor of these. The olive oil really stands out. I followed the recipe closely, only using all purpose for the bread flour. Nice texture and hearty. Perfect as soup/sandwich rolls. I made some as bread sticks as well, brushed with an egg wash and sprinkled with garlic salt and cornmeal. Those were the best. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These are great! and healthy. Usually my family refuses to eat whole wheat, but they loved these rolls! However, when I covered the rolls with a damp cloth and set the timer, 40 minutes later they were only 3/4 of their previous size! I don't know what I did wrong- perhaps my house is too cold! So I preheated the oven to 400 for 1 minute, then turned it off. I put the rolls in the oven to continue rising for 20 minutes. After that they were perfect. We froze half for another time and ate the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Malikas
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
The rolls turned out ok, a little dense but the dough was very sticky and hard to work with, I will try to do this again but i would reduce the amount of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States