Italian Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exact (except I added egg wash on the top). These buns were great. I was worried because the dough was very soft and sticky, even after adding about 2/3 cup flour during the kneading process. They turned out great though, except they didn't look perfectly round because they were hard to form due to the sticky dough. So four stars it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made these for the first time the day before yesterday, for a memorial service for my mother in law. Not only was this the first time making this recipe, but my first time making rolls ever. My sister in law told me she had people asking if I cater and everywhere I turned people were raving about these. The first batch left me saying "ok, so it worked, but I don't know if I can do enough for the party. The second batch was easier and went much quicker and I was off on a mission. We bought two sets of back up/extra (1 dozen total) from a local store that makes fresh but never needed them, we had plenty with what I had made. People thought they had been professionally and purchased. My mother and my mother in law would have both been thrilled, and I can highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Reynolds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bainbridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I love this recipe! We use for both dinner rolls and sandwich rolls. I only gave it four starts though, because as written, it is too bitter for my taste. I really think it needs just a tad more sugar. I half the recipe and use my kitchenaid to mix and knead. I use the full amount of sugar though, and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I halved this recipe and it still made 12 nice large buns for hamburgers or sandwiches. I needed to add quite a bit more flour when kneading but the end result was still tender and soft. I think they would be good formed into hotdog/sausage buns as well. If I was making dinner rolls, they might be a bit large so make 48 from a full recipe instead of 24 (or 24 from a half recipe) Its very easy because there is only one rise and I form them and rise them right on a silpat lined sheet, then just pop into the oven. They bake quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmacokatie
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Beautiful rolls, these were light and airy, had an amazing flavor and disappeared in two days! I love the single rise of this recipe so they're actually fairly quick to make! I used them as dinner rolls and also as mini vegetarian/dessert calzone wrappers as well. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Love this -- relatively quick for yeast breads because there's only one rise. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding vital wheat gluten -- about 2 tbsp. It really helps get whole wheat flour to rise! The rolls are quite large -- next time I will make half a recipe and still make 24 rolls. Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
OMG! These were so easy and delicious! I used 4 cups wheat flour and 2 cups bread flour! These will be on my table for thanksgiving!! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made these rolls 2 days in a row! My family loved them! There are just a couple of things I changed, I tried putting the damp towel over the rolls like the recipe suggests but the towel stuck to the rolls during the rising time. When I made them the second time I greased plastic wrap with olive oil and it worked perfectly! When I dissolved the yeast I made the water about a 115 degrees instead of the 110 the recipe calls for and the rolls raised up much better. These are just things that work better for me. I will definitely making these rolls many times for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this recipe in my bread machine and it turned out great! My family just loved these. I've already made them a few times and the kids keep asking for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessierex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Ha! These make the best 100% whole wheat tortilla like wraps ever! Yes, we had a communication error, and managed to mix this up without getting the yeast in, so we had to turn these into more of a tortilla/wrap. Fabulous! Best accident this year! Will try these rolls as per recipe ASAP. Loved the flavor of these bread rounds. Served with Onion Dijon Crusted Catfish from this site - making the sauce ahead of time, which turned the sauce into more of a pickled relish - which was perfect for these wraps. Meant to have dinner rolls with the fish, but, since salad was served, and the wraps were accidently right there, magic happened, and the wraps were loved by all. Thanks CloudsSunRain. Sorry for our oops, but these were fabulous anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States