Italian Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. I halved the recipe, used all whole wheat flour and made 6 larger sized sandwich buns. I let them rise for almost two hours and they turned out great! This is the only recipe I will ever use from now on for all my rolls and buns. Will even try making loaves with it. So light and full of flavor. Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Loved the flavor of these. The olive oil really stands out. I followed the recipe closely, only using all purpose for the bread flour. Nice texture and hearty. Perfect as soup/sandwich rolls. I made some as bread sticks as well, brushed with an egg wash and sprinkled with garlic salt and cornmeal. Those were the best. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe. I halved the recipe, then made 6 large sandwich-size rolls instead of 12 dinner rolls. They were a touch dense, but nothing a little extra rising time for larger rolls wouldn't cure. My mistake. Anyway, the rolls were SO tasty all on their own, but with some pulled chicken and barbeque sauce, they were DIVINE! This is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This is a great recipe. Easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I cut this in half because there is only the two of us. This was very good. I had to add a little more flour but this was so easy to make. We really enjoyed them with the Italian sausage amd Tortellini soup from this sight. I will diffently be making these for the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These were the softest, fluffiest wheat rolls ever! I let them rise way longer than doubled in an oiled bowl first. I formed the rolls by tucking them around and under to stretch the tops a little and put them in 9x5 glass casseroles, six rolls to each. I let them rise for over an hour again. Sugarmagnolia, if you didn't get them to rise it may have been that your water/olive oil mixture wasn't cool enough yet. Too hot and it will kill the yeast. I do encourage you to try this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Fantastic! Very soft and fluffy. I really like that they are made with olive oil. To make them even more nutritious, I did an even mix of whole wheat and white flour (i.e. 3cup/3cup); next time I will do 4c whole wheat and 2c white to see if that works. Wonderful rolls!!! My new favorite recipe. UPDATE: I've had great results making these using 4c whole wheat / 2c white! Still very light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was an exceptional easy recipe to prepare. My novice daughter made them and they were delicious...better than store bought! We even made some with just white bread flour and they, too, were delicious! We, both, will make them again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Delicious! Very soft and tender. Didn't have quite enough olive oil, so used about 1/2 canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very good wheat rolls with an Italian twist. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States