Italian Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I always wanted to try my hand at making rolls. This recipie intrigued me. I tried it and in all the 25 years of cooking for my wife and me, I came up with a great result on the first attempt. Tasty, light, satisfying either with a meal or with cheese and wine, they are a hlt. The best part is that it is healthy. Looking forward to more or these recipies. Thank you. olewinemaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. My husband liked them - he loves rolls. I'd say this recipe is worth a try, but I don't know that I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This is a great recipe. Easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
The rolls came out really soft and delicious. Excelellent recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yumyumgimmesome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I cut this in half because there is only the two of us. This was very good. I had to add a little more flour but this was so easy to make. We really enjoyed them with the Italian sausage amd Tortellini soup from this sight. I will diffently be making these for the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe. I halved the recipe, then made 6 large sandwich-size rolls instead of 12 dinner rolls. They were a touch dense, but nothing a little extra rising time for larger rolls wouldn't cure. My mistake. Anyway, the rolls were SO tasty all on their own, but with some pulled chicken and barbeque sauce, they were DIVINE! This is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I made this recipe twice and both times the rolls did not turn out well. They didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These were the softest, fluffiest wheat rolls ever! I let them rise way longer than doubled in an oiled bowl first. I formed the rolls by tucking them around and under to stretch the tops a little and put them in 9x5 glass casseroles, six rolls to each. I let them rise for over an hour again. Sugarmagnolia, if you didn't get them to rise it may have been that your water/olive oil mixture wasn't cool enough yet. Too hot and it will kill the yeast. I do encourage you to try this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Fantastic! Very soft and fluffy. I really like that they are made with olive oil. To make them even more nutritious, I did an even mix of whole wheat and white flour (i.e. 3cup/3cup); next time I will do 4c whole wheat and 2c white to see if that works. Wonderful rolls!!! My new favorite recipe. UPDATE: I've had great results making these using 4c whole wheat / 2c white! Still very light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by Malikas
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
The rolls turned out ok, a little dense but the dough was very sticky and hard to work with, I will try to do this again but i would reduce the amount of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States