Italian Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
OMG! These were so easy and delicious! I used 4 cups wheat flour and 2 cups bread flour! These will be on my table for thanksgiving!! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made these rolls 2 days in a row! My family loved them! There are just a couple of things I changed, I tried putting the damp towel over the rolls like the recipe suggests but the towel stuck to the rolls during the rising time. When I made them the second time I greased plastic wrap with olive oil and it worked perfectly! When I dissolved the yeast I made the water about a 115 degrees instead of the 110 the recipe calls for and the rolls raised up much better. These are just things that work better for me. I will definitely making these rolls many times for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Struck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this recipe in my bread machine and it turned out great! My family just loved these. I've already made them a few times and the kids keep asking for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessierex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Ha! These make the best 100% whole wheat tortilla like wraps ever! Yes, we had a communication error, and managed to mix this up without getting the yeast in, so we had to turn these into more of a tortilla/wrap. Fabulous! Best accident this year! Will try these rolls as per recipe ASAP. Loved the flavor of these bread rounds. Served with Onion Dijon Crusted Catfish from this site - making the sauce ahead of time, which turned the sauce into more of a pickled relish - which was perfect for these wraps. Meant to have dinner rolls with the fish, but, since salad was served, and the wraps were accidently right there, magic happened, and the wraps were loved by all. Thanks CloudsSunRain. Sorry for our oops, but these were fabulous anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I also let my bread machine do the work. I did add in 1/2 tsp. minced fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I made this recipe in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warm water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the remaining ingredients. I used whole wheat white flour and I did not add the full amount of salt, a heaping teaspoon was plenty for me. I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for five minutes (this dough did need a little more flour than what was called for to get the dough to form a solid ball and stop sticking to the bottom of the mixer bowl), then set it to rise for an hour in a greased, covered bowl. After it doubled, I formed rolls using my 1/3 cup measuring cup and plopped them into greased muffin tins, covered it with saran wrap and let them double again. Baked at 400*, these were done in just under 14 minutes. I brushed them with oil straight out of the oven. GINORMOUS rolls. Really. They were huge. The flavor was very nice and the rolls were not too sweet but also fluffy and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made them exactly as the recipe is written. These rolls are O.K. I don't know that I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
These were great! Rising time was almost double what was said (and I had them in a warm area) but other than that, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These are great! and healthy. Usually my family refuses to eat whole wheat, but they loved these rolls! However, when I covered the rolls with a damp cloth and set the timer, 40 minutes later they were only 3/4 of their previous size! I don't know what I did wrong- perhaps my house is too cold! So I preheated the oven to 400 for 1 minute, then turned it off. I put the rolls in the oven to continue rising for 20 minutes. After that they were perfect. We froze half for another time and ate the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Best rolls ever. I've made them many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States