Italian Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I love this recipe! We use for both dinner rolls and sandwich rolls. I only gave it four starts though, because as written, it is too bitter for my taste. I really think it needs just a tad more sugar. I half the recipe and use my kitchenaid to mix and knead. I use the full amount of sugar though, and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I halved this recipe and it still made 12 nice large buns for hamburgers or sandwiches. I needed to add quite a bit more flour when kneading but the end result was still tender and soft. I think they would be good formed into hotdog/sausage buns as well. If I was making dinner rolls, they might be a bit large so make 48 from a full recipe instead of 24 (or 24 from a half recipe) Its very easy because there is only one rise and I form them and rise them right on a silpat lined sheet, then just pop into the oven. They bake quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmacokatie
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Beautiful rolls, these were light and airy, had an amazing flavor and disappeared in two days! I love the single rise of this recipe so they're actually fairly quick to make! I used them as dinner rolls and also as mini vegetarian/dessert calzone wrappers as well. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Love this -- relatively quick for yeast breads because there's only one rise. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding vital wheat gluten -- about 2 tbsp. It really helps get whole wheat flour to rise! The rolls are quite large -- next time I will make half a recipe and still make 24 rolls. Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
OMG! These were so easy and delicious! I used 4 cups wheat flour and 2 cups bread flour! These will be on my table for thanksgiving!! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made these rolls 2 days in a row! My family loved them! There are just a couple of things I changed, I tried putting the damp towel over the rolls like the recipe suggests but the towel stuck to the rolls during the rising time. When I made them the second time I greased plastic wrap with olive oil and it worked perfectly! When I dissolved the yeast I made the water about a 115 degrees instead of the 110 the recipe calls for and the rolls raised up much better. These are just things that work better for me. I will definitely making these rolls many times for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this recipe in my bread machine and it turned out great! My family just loved these. I've already made them a few times and the kids keep asking for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessierex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Ha! These make the best 100% whole wheat tortilla like wraps ever! Yes, we had a communication error, and managed to mix this up without getting the yeast in, so we had to turn these into more of a tortilla/wrap. Fabulous! Best accident this year! Will try these rolls as per recipe ASAP. Loved the flavor of these bread rounds. Served with Onion Dijon Crusted Catfish from this site - making the sauce ahead of time, which turned the sauce into more of a pickled relish - which was perfect for these wraps. Meant to have dinner rolls with the fish, but, since salad was served, and the wraps were accidently right there, magic happened, and the wraps were loved by all. Thanks CloudsSunRain. Sorry for our oops, but these were fabulous anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I also let my bread machine do the work. I did add in 1/2 tsp. minced fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I made this recipe in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warm water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the remaining ingredients. I used whole wheat white flour and I did not add the full amount of salt, a heaping teaspoon was plenty for me. I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for five minutes (this dough did need a little more flour than what was called for to get the dough to form a solid ball and stop sticking to the bottom of the mixer bowl), then set it to rise for an hour in a greased, covered bowl. After it doubled, I formed rolls using my 1/3 cup measuring cup and plopped them into greased muffin tins, covered it with saran wrap and let them double again. Baked at 400*, these were done in just under 14 minutes. I brushed them with oil straight out of the oven. GINORMOUS rolls. Really. They were huge. The flavor was very nice and the rolls were not too sweet but also fluffy and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States