Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is great! I replaced the cayenne pepper with 2-3 times the amount paprika but left the other ingredients in tact. I'm not sure what is meant by "marble sized" but I made mine all about an inch across and 14-15 grams (.45-.50 ounces) and they seems to come out properly cooked. I don't think I waited for the onions to brown but just start to turn brown, typically around 8 minutes. Keeping the sausages in the refrigerator until you form the balls makes it real easy form them to stay firm. I also used a normal curved plastic spatula, rubber or silicone is not needed. Just do not use a flat one. I think I let it simmer pretty long. Maybe a half hour? I also garnished after serving rather then in the pot, as implied. The fennel comes through perfectly one the first day but was not so present a few days later. Serve it the same day as made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Excellent soup recipe! I made this exactly as written and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great soup for those chilly days. I subbed ditalini for orzo since that was the smallest pasta I had on hand and added some salt to taste. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Delicious!! I only had 1lb. of mild ground sausage, so I decreased the herb measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have had better Italian Wedding Soups...needed more flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p and q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great tasting soup. I used a bit more spinach than called for. Due to the meatballs it was a filling soup and can be used as an entree with a load of home baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very easy to make soup and recipe can be converted for the crockpot. I made my own chicken broth instead of using canned. Baked my meatballs at 350 for 20 minutes and then added to the crock pot. About 2 hours before eating added orzo to the crockpot (on warm) . Before serving I stirred in baby spinach. Since I was using baby spinach I did not chop it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe was good, but I prefer my family recipe. It is my personal preference to use ground beef instead also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good! I for the most part stayed with the original recipe until it was finished. I thought it lacked depth of flavor so I added a large Tbsp. of fresh (frozen in olive oil) basil and 1 1/2 tsp. salt which produced a better fuller flavor. I did decrease the bread crumbs in the meatballs to about 1/3 cup and I added a wild rice mix instead of the pasta and finally I added more carrots and celery. Personally I prefer "Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini" much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Loved it! I decided to bake my meatballs in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes, just to firm them up and keep them from crumbling. Don't be tempted to add salt to this soup, as it is salty enough with the chicken broth and sausage. I also used acini di pepe instead of orzo. It's a small pasta, that looks more like traditional Italian Wedding Soup. I did have to add a bit more water than called for as well, just to increase the broth to "stuff" ratio. My Italian hubby loved it too. It's a "do again" recipe, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States