Italian Wedding Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
Wonderful soup! I substituted spinach and used 1 lb. of Italian Chicken sausage instead of hamburger. I also used fresh basil and added 1 clove of chopped fresh garlic to the meatballs. I added 1/2 cup of acini pepe (orzo pasta) to the soup, it made a HUGE difference and added more texture to the soup. Very filling and light. This is my new favorite! A huge hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
my husband and I loved it. I did not think it was hard to make or that it took that long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I've been searching for a recipe similar to my gradmother's and I've found it, Thanks Karen! I make a double batch of meatballs and freeze one batch. This makes it especially quick for those evenings when time is premium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
Outstanding flavor and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
REALLY Excellent! I made an extra batch of the "meatballs", froze them & saved them for next time! Believe me, you'll want to make this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This is the best! Rich but delicious! Only thing I do different is use less Escarole. I think one bunch is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I am giving this 5 stars because this is the only recipe that had the egg mixture in it. I combined the end of this recipe with the first part of 'Mama's Italian Wedding Soup' by Lalena. I also made a bunch of changes to that recipe - see my rating for details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Great soup! This is the most authentic of all the recipes listed, well at least according to my particular Italian upbringing! It was the eggs swirled in. The only changes I made were to add day old fresh bread crumbs moistened with a little milk as my mama did. No escarole in my area so I used spinich and it worked well. I also was lucky enough to have fresh chicken from the Amish farm down the road. Now this was heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this soup for the first time in my life and it was wonderful. My whole family loved it also. Such a great blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This soup is absolutely wonderful! Believe it or not, the thing that took the longest was chopping up the escarole, but putting that aside the flavors were delicious! I used 50% less sodium and FF Chix Broth. I also used ground Turkey and 4C's new low carb Bread Crumbs and LF Parmesian Cheese, and you would never had known because it tasted like the real thing. The only problem I had was with the 3 eggs and 1 cup cheese, that cup of cheese made my soup very salty, but it was an easy fix, just add more chicken broth. I had 3 bowls for supper and was VERY satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States