Italian Wedding Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
My grandmother was from Agnone Italy and this was her recipe. She would never have put anything tomato in this recipe. That would be more like Minestrone, which is another excellent Italian soup. I am the submitter of this recipe and I just wanted to comment on the "lack of pasta" in this recipe. My grandmother never put pasta in her wedding soup. I wanted to share the recipe as it was prepared in my Italian family. You can add pasta if you like it, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHECOOKS2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I am giving this 5 stars because this is the only recipe that had the egg mixture in it. I combined the end of this recipe with the first part of 'Mama's Italian Wedding Soup' by Lalena. I also made a bunch of changes to that recipe - see my rating for details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This was a truley amazing dish...a technique that I used for this was to shock the spinach which i used in place of the escole. this is done by placing the spinach in ice water when straining out of the boiling water. this keeps the spinach that vibrant green color. This can be done with any green vegtable to keep its color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Great recipe...but remove the meatballs from the broth (after they are cooked) and before you add the escarole, put the egg mixture into the broth and cook it before you add the meatballs and escarole... it makes it easier if you do this first... oh and the meatballs are great with spaghetti...yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
This is the closest thing to my Italian Grandmother's version - she owned three restaurants. The smaller you make the meatballs the better -- also we boil and shred chicken in the broth and add just a few homeade croutons on the top with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I am giving this recipe 4 stars since it is the most like the soup I make. The other recipes on this web site do not come close to the soup my husband and I grew up with. The one glaring omission in this recipe is the PASTA! Acini di pepe is a must in this recipe. Add to your taste. I also prefer to use fresh spinach instead of escarole but my husband is use to escarole and likes it. I do not add the egg at the end of the recipe since I do not prefer it this way. I also add some minced garlic. Overall this recipe has promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This soup was bland with too much escarole, not enough broth, and the cheese/egg mixture made it gloppy and unappetizing (yes, I stirred while adding). It didn't look very appetizing and I threw away the rest of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manchester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
IT BROUGHT ME BACK TO MY CHILDHOOD, WHEN MY MOM WOULD MAKE THIS FOR US ON SPECIAL HOLIDAYS. I NEVER GOT THIS RECIPE FROM HER AND NOW I HAVE IT. THANK YOU, MY KIDS AND HUSBAND LOVE IT ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jengeowal
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is the most similar to my own family's recipe for meatball soup. Ours never had pasta either. The only difference is that instead of the egg mixture, we make an egg-based crouton that tops the soup after it's been ladled into the bowls. To make the croutons, beat eggs with parsley, garlic salt, and pepper. Soak cubes of bread in the egg mixture, then deep fry until crisp. These can be made ahead of time, then toasted in the oven to re-crisp just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jengeowal
Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
REALLY Excellent! I made an extra batch of the "meatballs", froze them & saved them for next time! Believe me, you'll want to make this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States