Italian Wedding Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this soup for the first time in my life and it was wonderful. My whole family loved it also. Such a great blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Great soup! This is the most authentic of all the recipes listed, well at least according to my particular Italian upbringing! It was the eggs swirled in. The only changes I made were to add day old fresh bread crumbs moistened with a little milk as my mama did. No escarole in my area so I used spinich and it worked well. I also was lucky enough to have fresh chicken from the Amish farm down the road. Now this was heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I am giving this 5 stars because this is the only recipe that had the egg mixture in it. I combined the end of this recipe with the first part of 'Mama's Italian Wedding Soup' by Lalena. I also made a bunch of changes to that recipe - see my rating for details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Delicious soup...but had a problem with the last step...ading the egg & cheese mixture...soup got "grainy" even thought I stirred constantly like the recipe said..but it still tasted great even thou it didn't look that great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This is the best! Rich but delicious! Only thing I do different is use less Escarole. I think one bunch is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
absolutely marvelous if a little of a pain making little meatballs it is worth all the trouble which is relly not a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNYJNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
REALLY Excellent! I made an extra batch of the "meatballs", froze them & saved them for next time! Believe me, you'll want to make this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
Wonderful soup! I substituted spinach and used 1 lb. of Italian Chicken sausage instead of hamburger. I also used fresh basil and added 1 clove of chopped fresh garlic to the meatballs. I added 1/2 cup of acini pepe (orzo pasta) to the soup, it made a HUGE difference and added more texture to the soup. Very filling and light. This is my new favorite! A huge hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is a great tasting soup. I had meatballs left over after increasing the recipe to 12 for a baby shower and just saved them for making the soup another day. Making extra meatballs really cuts down on time later on. I also added little star-shaped pasta. Very tasty indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPSCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I've been searching for a recipe similar to my gradmother's and I've found it, Thanks Karen! I make a double batch of meatballs and freeze one batch. This makes it especially quick for those evenings when time is premium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States