Italian Wedding Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I liked this recipe, but I made a few changes. I used 1 bunch of spinach and didn't add the egg & cheese mixture at the end. I used 1 T. oregano instead of 1 t. parsley because it's all I had. I also added 8 oz. of small pasta shells. I made this soup for my boyfriend when he was sick because his grandma used to make it for him. He enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
We like that this recipe doesn't have pasta. My husband is diabetic and can't eat the pasta. This is a wonderful recipe that all five of us, including three children ages five to ten, enjoy. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjkoster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
The soup was amazing! My first time making this kind of soup. The only thing that took long was making the meatballs otherwise its a very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jengeowal
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is the most similar to my own family's recipe for meatball soup. Ours never had pasta either. The only difference is that instead of the egg mixture, we make an egg-based crouton that tops the soup after it's been ladled into the bowls. To make the croutons, beat eggs with parsley, garlic salt, and pepper. Soak cubes of bread in the egg mixture, then deep fry until crisp. These can be made ahead of time, then toasted in the oven to re-crisp just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jengeowal
Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Good soup for a warm day. Easy too! I made in my crock-pot, broiled the meatballs (used turkey) for a few minutes, added a bit of oregano and also mixed 2 eggs + a few tablespoons of romano cheese and swirled it into the soup for 1 minute. Made a few mistakes, put the onion in the soup instead of the meatballs and added garlic which should have gone into the meatballs as well. But overall, a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is very good, but (as with other reviewers) I made a few changes. I used a ground chicken and ground veal mixture for the meatballs, along with egg, parmesean, bread crumbs, black pepper and parsley. I also added diced carrots. I didn't have escarole, so I used spinach. My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
My husband had seconds, and my son finished his at regular speed vs the hour it takes when he doesn't like something... so it must have been good. I used a bag of baby spinach instead of escarole, but I should have chopped it or tore the leaves because they didn't shrivel up as much as I thought they would. I added onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper and a little sea salt to the meatballs, and left out the bread crumbs. I only used 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of parmesan mixture to add to the broth. It didn't look or taste disgusting as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Excellent soup!! The only difference I made was mixing pork and beef for the meatballs and adding a cup of orzo pasta. I also mixed the escarole and spinach together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I should have paid more attention to the fact that everyone who gave this recipe a high rating altered most of the ingredients. I followed the recipe exactly and the result was the worst tasting Italian Wedding Soup I have ever had. I was suspicious about the large amount of basil in the meatball recipe, and I should have followed my instinct. I agree with Lizzy about the egg mixture at the end. My final review: Absolutely unedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Nice and light, I loved this version of Italian Wedding Soup! My changes: homemade chicken broth instead of canned to dramatically reduce sodium, organic half lean ground pork/beef for the meatballs, chopped frozen spinach since I couldn't find any fresh spinach or escarole, and slightly reduced amount of dried basil used in meatballs. I also omitted using Parmesan cheese in the final egg/cheese mix, although I thought the egg was a nice touch at the end. As someone else mentioned in their review, it's a lot easier to incorporate the egg at the end into the soup after fishing out the cooked meatballs and before adding the spinach/escarole...just lightly beat the egg and use a fork to mix the egg well into the soup. I look forward to making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Central, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States