Italian Wedding Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Absolutely my new favorite soup! I used fresh basil and homemade bread crumbs for the meatballs, it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
All was very good with some changes until I put in the egg and parmesan mixture. Stirred as directed it now looks awful. Can't taste the chicken base or meatballs at all, only parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
It turned out great. I used spinach instead of escarole and dropped it in the soup after the meatballs were done. I also added 3/4 cup uncooked star pasta to the soup and it was done same time as the meatballs. Will sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make changes, as we all do. Used spinach instead of escarole. Added orzo pasta (but tasted before adding and its really fine without). Added 1/2 an onion to the broth. Used fresh herbs instead of dried (i think this gives the 'wow' flavor you need) The egg & parm part was awesome! Also, I have read reviews about cooking the meatballs with the soup and cooking separate...i took advice from another review that stated if you cook the meatballs separate you really take away alot of flavor to the broth, i think she was def right about that...cook them in the broth! I had this soup for dinner last night, lunch today... and planning on eating again tonight for dinner! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This hearty soup was awesome the egg was just the right touch Will become a staple in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Just three stars for it's bare bonesness. With changes, it's fab. I made my own broth from the bones of chicken I roasted the night before; one chicken carcass, picked clean, one tomatato, celery rib, 1/2 onion, four clove garlic, one can V8, put in crockpot on low overnight. I put the meatballs on a cookiesheet in the oven to brown then into soup, also added white beans and a spoonful of pesto to the soup for added flavor, it seemed a little meh, to me. This was especially good with bitter, hearty black bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Loved this recipe! I made it, first of all, because it does not include garlic or onions. (I used homemade chicken broth.) Took reviewers tips to remove meatballs from broth after cooking, then to add egg/cheese mixture, then escarole & meatballs again. Not sure that was necessary as long as the meatballs do not cook too long before adding the rest of the ingredients. I did not cook the soup further from this point. The only changes I made were to add 1/2 t salt to meatball mixture and subbed romano cheese since that's what I had. Also fresh basil/parsley to the meatball mixture. I might add some pasta to it next time for a heartier soup. Thanks to you and your grandmother for this wonderful version of Wedding Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Loved it. I'm not a red meat eater so I made it with ground chicken meatballs and no beef. It was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
WOW!.....Awesome recipe! Made this soup for Hubby and I, and now that we know how good it is, it will become a "company soup". I used a "less sodium" broth and it was perfect! The cheese adds just enough saltiness. I only made one major change. I substituted a large (12 oz.) bag of fresh baby spinach for the escarole. This will be a favorite in my house. Simple to make and delicious! Val
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This a pretty good basic recipe for this type of soup.When I make this I use half very lean groung chuck & half lean ground pork.The family doesn't care for the egg mixture at the end. So I skip it (that's another kind of soup altogether. The only thing missing at the end is the addition of finely grated lemon zest . Just a little. It really gives the broth a fresh finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States