Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
As I was preparing this I thought maybe the seasonings in the meatballs would season the broth. They did not. I added salt, pepper, poultry seasoning and some chicken bullion to the broth and it was delicious. I did double the amount of meatballs as well. My family loved it and it is hard to please them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Used beet greens instead of escarole. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Love this recipe. It was different than our normal meals which was so nice. I don't use escarole, I have been using spinach which is great. Easy to make. I actually used the mini carrots and quickly chopped those up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish, Montana, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lbarnaby
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is an incredibly easy soup to make. I tripled it to make extra for our neighbor and daughters. I used ground pork and chicken, instead of beef, and followed another's advice to cook orzo separately. Tastes wonderful and serving it with bread recipe from all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
5 stars with a few changes: Make/bake meatballs first 1C carrots, 1C onions, 1C celery sauteed to soften used 1 pkg frozen spinach added 1-2C beef broth added extra spices for flavor simmer 2+ hours for better flavor cook pasta separate then add at end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have made this soup many many times and my family loves it! The only thing i would recommend is to stick to the recipe as far as the instructions go. Some people here recommend BAKING the meatballs thus effectively removing any beef flavor from the soup and then ADDING beef broth! If you cook your meatballs in the soup you will get that beef flavor as they release the flavor when they cook. Also, I add 1/2 cup of pasta and cook it in the soup. I does absorb the liquid somewhat but i like that "cooked in the broth" flavor of my pasta. I just turn the soup off after about 5 minutes of cooking when the pasta is not done yet. After it sits for 10-15 minutes, it gets done but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made this soup 2 days ago and loved it! Now having left overs today it is as good or better! Only thing I did different is brown the meatballs in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Delicious, simple soup. The meatballs are fantastic--I use ground turkey. Very kid-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
VERY salty maybe use reduced salt broth next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Super easy soup and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States