Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was absolutely SLPENDID! My boyfriend and I had never made wedding soup. He is crazy italian so he doctored u the meatballs with extra cheese, breadcrumbs, garlic powder, basil and some oregano. Still the stated amount of egg and meat, however. They were DELICIOUS! Other than that, followed the recipe to a "t". The only other changes that I think I will do next time is to add a bunch of onion (personal preference) as well as maybe some ground oregano, basil, and salt and pepper to taste to the broth itself just to liven it up a tad. Regardless, great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Wonderful!!! The only thing I do different is cook the meatballs prior to putting in the soup. I either bake them on a cookie sheet in the oven (keeps them in the best shape) or brown in a small amount of oil in the pan I later cook the soup in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is the very first made-from-scratch soup I learned how to make, so it's near and dear to my heart (and tummy). Homemade chicken stock is the way to go with this rustic soup... the bits of tender chicken coupled with teeny meatballs (I opt for ground turkey or chicken), supple orzo, braised greens then topped with salty parmesan is ethereal... nothing else like it. Try it. Your tummy will thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very good. I used spinach as my green though as that's what I'm used to in this soup. Be careful if not serving immediately though, because those little orzos will suck up all the broth if stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Not quite as good as some that I've had, but good nonetheless and very easy to make. I did modify the recipe a bit, following a combination of suggestions from other reviewers. I baked the meatballs at 350 for about 15 minutes and cooked the orzo separately. I then sauted some garlic, onion and the carrots in olive oil before adding the stock and all the other ingredients. Got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Ohio, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Used spinach...wonderful. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The whole family enjoyed this dish! (which is saying something) I added some freshly ground pepper, and it made it even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This soup is amazing! I used ground chicken instead of beef. Also topped with locatelli cheese and put some in the meat. Also, added a can of beef broth per another reviewer. My market didn't have escarole, so I just used spinach and it was great. Perfect with those small changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
1/2 pound italian sausage 2 tbsp bread crumbs 2 tbsp parmesan cheese 1 tsp dried basil 3/4-1tsp onion powder 3/3 tsp garlic powder mix above and roll into 1/2 inch balls 6 cups chicken broth 1 1/2 cups pasta 2 carrots peeled into shavings 1/2 cup diced green onion 1/2 to 3/4 cup roughly chopped italian parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I've always wanted to find a great meatball recipe as well as wedding soup. My search is over! The meatballs turned out tender (I used 1.5lb of beef and 1/2 lb of pork). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States