Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Was Delicious and definitely browned the meatballs first. Also used old fasioned oats instead of bread crumbs because I can't have wheat. Used turkey broth and ground turkey and it was fabulous. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I am really enjoying this soup. I doubled the recipe, but did not double the orzo. Also, I used homemade beef broth in place of the chicken broth and I did bake my meatballs (400 degrees for ~15 minutes) and just added them to the soup at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very nice. Easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Yummy soup, a little plain though. Next time i will do what another reviewer did and sautee onioms and garlic in pot before adding broth. Will also brown the balls. I used chicken stock instead of broth and skipped the Orzo since it doesn't really add much taste or nutrition. Used grass fed beef for the balls and panko for the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberoxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I used spinach instead of escarole only because I did not have any, but still very good! I also added a little bit of garlic to the meatballs..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent soup my 7 year old ask for it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
It is a common misconception that this is a soup traditionally served at Italian weddings. It actually gets its name from the "marriage" of leafy vegetables and meat. I look forward to trying this recipe, which looks delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Outstanding! The only change I made was to use fresh spinach instead of escarole. I served this with homemade dinner rolls. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was very good. I changed a couple of things to give it a light but flavorful taste. I double the recipe to feed our family of 6. to make the meatballs I used 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey, 1/3 cup bread crumbs, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup parma cheese. I added the meatballs to the boiling broth that was 10 cups low sodium Chicken broth and 2 cups beef Stock. Along with meatballs I added the carrots, onions, and 1 stalk of celery, chopped. after 8 minutes, I added 14 oz of Fresh Spinach, chopped, and 1/2 cup parma cheese, and 1 cup orzo pasta and cooked for another 10 minutes. I was perfect! :) Thank you for this great start to a wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend, and he loves it. The day before I made this recipe, I made my own stock, and I used 4 cups of that stock with one cup of beef bouillon - I thought I grabbed a can of beef broth, but when I got it home it was chicken. The flavor made by combining the broths is perfect! I used shredded carrots (so he'd eat them) and diced an onion for the soup. I did brown my meatballs slightly before adding them to the broth, and cooked the orzo separately. So I used a few dishes to make it, but it is worth the extra clean up! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States