Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Delicious recipe. I make large amounts and freeze for later, because it is that delicious! My changes: 1 lb turkey for meatballs and follow everyone's suggestion at baking then separate so the soup does not have too much fat. Keep the ingredients of meatballs the same. Use spinach instead of escarole (and I use a WHOLE bag). I use a whole box of Orzo pasta. Also add 1-2 cups of beef broth for that extra kick everyone talks about. Delicious. Have made it 5-6 times since finding this recipe a month ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Yum! This is simply fantastic. I must admit, I did not anticipate this to be as good as it actually was. I expected a decent soup, but what my hubs and I ate tonight far exceeded that. Fall weather is finally here (the temp dropped from the high 70's to the low 60's overnight). Steaming bowls of soup warmed us up on this chilly day. :) To be fair, I must disclose that I made several changes, some to suit my / our tastes and one completely by accident. Because I mistakenly thawed ground chicken, I used that instead of beef. I also upped the breadcrumbs / cheese by a couple T due to my mixture being too mushy to form meatballs (with my change, I had no problems). I added a 14.5 oz. can of beef broth since many reviews susggested it gave this soup the "oomph" it seemed to be lacking. I also added a couple of sliced green onions because I had them on hand. My final change was to sub acini di pepe pasta for orzo and boil it separately, then add to our soup - and I'm glad I did. NOTE: There is no need to bake or brown your MB's first. My hubs usually comments when I skip this step, but he and I both agreed that this was just not necessary. Served with a crusty loaf of Italian bread, this was a delicious and simple meal. Thanks for sharing Star! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
The meatballs are what make this soup perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Schultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Love this soup. I use 3/4 cups pasta and frozen spinach instead of escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this soup! I use spinach instead of the escarole and it's just as good (have used canned OR frozen.....thawed and drained). Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Went with the the other reviewers suggestion of turkey for the meatballs and adding more carrot. Worth the extra time it took to brown and cook the meatballs, added more flavor and less fatty. Also precooked the noodles as I wasn't in a rush. Tastier the next day! Thanks for the recipe and the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
We thought this soup was pretty good, but the meatballs were tasteless. They definitely would have benefitted from some salt and maybe some garlic. The parmesan flavor wasn't noticeable at all (and I used grated reggiano parmesan) and I think I'd add more of that the next time. I substituted fresh spinach for the escarole because that's what I had on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Really delicious soup! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and baked the mini-meatballs on a parchment-lined baking sheet for around 18 minutes at 375 degrees. I'm glad I did - I can't imagine the texture of the meatballs had I boiled them with the broth. I used two boxes of chicken broth and about 1/2 can beef broth (8 cups total?). I served the soup with sourdough bread, which was excellent for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States