Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this soup! I use spinach instead of the escarole and it's just as good (have used canned OR frozen.....thawed and drained). Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Went with the the other reviewers suggestion of turkey for the meatballs and adding more carrot. Worth the extra time it took to brown and cook the meatballs, added more flavor and less fatty. Also precooked the noodles as I wasn't in a rush. Tastier the next day! Thanks for the recipe and the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
We thought this soup was pretty good, but the meatballs were tasteless. They definitely would have benefitted from some salt and maybe some garlic. The parmesan flavor wasn't noticeable at all (and I used grated reggiano parmesan) and I think I'd add more of that the next time. I substituted fresh spinach for the escarole because that's what I had on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Really delicious soup! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and baked the mini-meatballs on a parchment-lined baking sheet for around 18 minutes at 375 degrees. I'm glad I did - I can't imagine the texture of the meatballs had I boiled them with the broth. I used two boxes of chicken broth and about 1/2 can beef broth (8 cups total?). I served the soup with sourdough bread, which was excellent for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
soup was great!! I sauteed onion, celery, shredded carrots, garlic in a little olive oil, added chicken stock, a little beef stock, bought mini meatballs at Trader Joe's and added a bag of organic baby leaf spinach and made orzo on the side, easy, fast and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was good for a first attempt. I made it according to the recipe, except used spinach as they didn't have escarole at the grocery store. Next time I will bake the meatballs to brown them up a little better. They were kind of grey and unappealing, but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Changes I made: baked mini turkey meatballs in 350 oven for 15 min, added spinach instead of escarole, sautéed onion, garlic, carrot and celery in pot before adding stock, and used tiny star pasta instead of orzo. Delicious and a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is a delicious soup! Go easy on the pasta, as it can absorb a lot of the broth. I used spinach instead of escarole, and veggie broth in place of chicken. I also cooked the meatballs separately. This is a go-to recipe for delicious and healthy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I am giving this a 5 even though I think it needs the help of reviews. I read reviews the first time and used only 1/2 cup and also added beef broth. Forgot about the reviews the 2nd time and used a whole cup of orzo and no beef broth...the soup was overwhelmed by the orzo. DEFINITELY use only 1/2 cup of orzo!!! Also flavor is better with some beef broth. Delicious though, and I am glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Edwards Cook VanDyke

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States