Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I let it sit in the frige overnight and we really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious! I used ASHLEYBEGOOD's suggestions. Used kale instead of escarole and added some shallots (had them on hand) finely diced to the meatballs. Baking them @ 350 for about 15-20 minutes before adding them to the soup cut down on the amount of grease but still gave them enough time to lend their beefy goodness to the soup. I also added a little garlic and herb seasoning towards the end which kicked it up a notch. Will definitely be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
we use spicy italian sausage in place of the ground beef for extra flavor and LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The soup was a hit! everyone loved it and wants the recipe!! Ended up following everyone's suggestions 1. used 6 cups chicken broth and i cup beef broth 2. for the meatballs used half pork and half beef and also cooked them before i put them in the soup 3. only used 1/2 cup of stelline pasta and cooked it before putting in the soup 4. ended up cooking on low in my dutch oven for about 5 hours to really build the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Really great base for a soup, however it lacks a depth of flavor. I doubled the amount of meatballs, and bumped up portions of everything else. I also used a mix of chicken and beef broth that added some nice flavor. Kale worked instead of endive and was still delicious--it was what I had on hand, and it's really good for you. The broth is going to need more seasoning than just the meatballs--prepare to add salt, pepper, and oregano/basil/garlic. Next time, I think I'll sautée some garlic and onion before adding the broth. Also, some people have said cook the meatballs before to get some of the fat out--I did this, and I think it was a mistake. A lot of the flavor of the soup comes from the meat, so cooking the meatballs in the broth may add that depth that was missing the first time around. Plus, if you use lean ground beef, the amount of fat shouldn't be an issue. (Authentic Italian Wedding soup has an oily texture because of this.) Overall, though, it's a very tweakable soup, and I'll definitely experiment with it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I love this soup and use ground turkey and only 1/2 cup of orzo pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Meatballs were bland and the soup itself inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is the first time I've made this and it is definately one I will be making again. I baked the meatballs in the oven first, and cooked the pasta before adding it to soup. I added Italian bread with garlic and had a wonderful dinner. I also made enough for leftovers. One can never have too much soup in the fall and winter. Wonderful recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Wonderful!!! My first attempt at this kind of soup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is really good. I followed the recipe almost exactly. Only deviations were: I used beef broth and chicken broth, added some salt and onion flakes, used spinach and added some celery. I served it with a nice crusty bread and the family loved it. As they say, "it is a do-over"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States