Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Perfect on a chilly day! Great taste! I was lacking some ingredients, so I used regular egg noddles and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisonMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I gave the original recipe 4 stars, as it's a pretty good base. But upon reading other reviews I decided to make a few additions. First, I made the meatballs separate and used half ground beef and half ground pork (1/4 of ea.). In addition to the other ingredients listed, I added dried oregano, salt and pepper to the meatballs. I also took the advice of other reviewers and cooked a 1/2 cup of orzo separately and added at the end. I also did 4 cups of chicken broth, and 2 cups of beef broth and used spinach in lieu of escarole because I couldn't find it at the grocery store. This is the process I used: First, I made the meatballs, then in a large pot, I sauteed 1/4 cup of onion, 1 clove of minced garlic, and the 1/3 c. carrot in olive oil. I then added and heated up the chicken and beef broths and added the 2 cups of chopped (fresh) spinach. Meanwhile I was cooking the orzo and when it was done, I added it to the mix along with the cooked meatballs. I then simmered altogether for 10 minutes then served with garlic bread! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Eversman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I'm usually so disappointed when I make a soup, somehow I just don't like it as much as when I have it at a restaurant, but this was great and pretty simple to make. I substituted ground chicken for beef since that's the way I've always had it and used acini de pepe rather than orzo. Also cooked the pasta separately as other reviewers have mentioned. Other than that I stuck to the recipe as written and this was a really nice soup. Just added some black pepper and sprinkled some pecorino romano on top when serving. Will definitely make again. The little meatballs are kind of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great Soup! I browned the meatballs first, and they turned out better than expected. I also used two cups of beef broth, and half the orzo. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good recipe. I will not use as much pasta next time because it took away from the soupiness of the dish! I had to add additional stock. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Amazing, didn't have all the veggies mentioned, and I sauteed everything even my spices before putting it in the soup. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
i used ground veal to make the meatballs and escarole. Used 2 1/2 boxes of chicken broth, sauted 1 carrot, 1 onion and 2 cloves of garlic. I also used cheese tortillini for the pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Good soup! I made as written and agree that it is too much orzo so next time I will decrease and cook separate. Will also try chicken meatballs rather than the beef. I used homemade chicken broth and it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
we love this soup-only changes I made were adding cooked chicken and I baked the meatballs before I put them in the soup-wonderful soup-make it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muttzee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Just to save time I bought Rozzano 1/2 frozen meatballs and cooked them 15 minutes in oven. I used chicken broth and beef broth. I also cooked the orzo before adding it to the soup. The next time I would decrease orzo by 1/2 cup. Along with the other reviews it is best to make it one day and eat it the next. It definietly needs to marinate. Spices used were garlic, onion powder, oregano. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJHall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States