Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Would not make this again. It was a lot of work, dirtied a lot of dishes and wasn't worth the effort. It was bland and not very appetizing. I used recommendations by other reviewers to cook the orzo separately and reduce to it 1/2 c. otherwise I followed the recipe to a "T". I do not recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used 1 lb of ground turkey instead of beef and I browned the meatballs for a few minutes in a little bit of olive oil before adding in the other ingredients. Also, I would really suggest adding about a tsp of dried thyme to the meatball mixture, it adds a delicious flavor. I also used a handful of finely chopped Swiss Chard because that is what I had growing in my garden. The result was a fantastic soup my family and I, even my two year old, ate for three days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
So wonderfull. Made ths today as it was a rainy day. Only change was I subbed spinach as I did not have escarole on hand. Still deliscious. Froze the leftovers. Looking foward to eating the leftovers at future lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is really good. I made a few additions. I added garlic herb powder & half a finely chopped onion to the meat mixture. I browned the meat balls in a little olive oil because I wanted to eliminate the extra grease from the meat to get in the soup. I drained the meatballs on paper towel. I sauteed the other half of the finely chopped onion in a little olive oil, added 1 cup of carrots, added 6 cups of water and 1.5 cubes of bouillon (one chicken and half beef), then I added frozen spinach and let it simmer. I finally added cooked pasta at the end and let it sit for a bit to let the pasta soak some of the flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Perfect on a chilly day! Great taste! I was lacking some ingredients, so I used regular egg noddles and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisonMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I gave the original recipe 4 stars, as it's a pretty good base. But upon reading other reviews I decided to make a few additions. First, I made the meatballs separate and used half ground beef and half ground pork (1/4 of ea.). In addition to the other ingredients listed, I added dried oregano, salt and pepper to the meatballs. I also took the advice of other reviewers and cooked a 1/2 cup of orzo separately and added at the end. I also did 4 cups of chicken broth, and 2 cups of beef broth and used spinach in lieu of escarole because I couldn't find it at the grocery store. This is the process I used: First, I made the meatballs, then in a large pot, I sauteed 1/4 cup of onion, 1 clove of minced garlic, and the 1/3 c. carrot in olive oil. I then added and heated up the chicken and beef broths and added the 2 cups of chopped (fresh) spinach. Meanwhile I was cooking the orzo and when it was done, I added it to the mix along with the cooked meatballs. I then simmered altogether for 10 minutes then served with garlic bread! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Eversman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I'm usually so disappointed when I make a soup, somehow I just don't like it as much as when I have it at a restaurant, but this was great and pretty simple to make. I substituted ground chicken for beef since that's the way I've always had it and used acini de pepe rather than orzo. Also cooked the pasta separately as other reviewers have mentioned. Other than that I stuck to the recipe as written and this was a really nice soup. Just added some black pepper and sprinkled some pecorino romano on top when serving. Will definitely make again. The little meatballs are kind of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great Soup! I browned the meatballs first, and they turned out better than expected. I also used two cups of beef broth, and half the orzo. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good recipe. I will not use as much pasta next time because it took away from the soupiness of the dish! I had to add additional stock. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Amazing, didn't have all the veggies mentioned, and I sauteed everything even my spices before putting it in the soup. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States