Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great Soup! I browned the meatballs first, and they turned out better than expected. I also used two cups of beef broth, and half the orzo. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good recipe. I will not use as much pasta next time because it took away from the soupiness of the dish! I had to add additional stock. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Amazing, didn't have all the veggies mentioned, and I sauteed everything even my spices before putting it in the soup. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
i used ground veal to make the meatballs and escarole. Used 2 1/2 boxes of chicken broth, sauted 1 carrot, 1 onion and 2 cloves of garlic. I also used cheese tortillini for the pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Good soup! I made as written and agree that it is too much orzo so next time I will decrease and cook separate. Will also try chicken meatballs rather than the beef. I used homemade chicken broth and it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
we love this soup-only changes I made were adding cooked chicken and I baked the meatballs before I put them in the soup-wonderful soup-make it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muttzee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Just to save time I bought Rozzano 1/2 frozen meatballs and cooked them 15 minutes in oven. I used chicken broth and beef broth. I also cooked the orzo before adding it to the soup. The next time I would decrease orzo by 1/2 cup. Along with the other reviews it is best to make it one day and eat it the next. It definietly needs to marinate. Spices used were garlic, onion powder, oregano. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJHall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I love it, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe was a really good start, but with some tweaks it made the best soup I've ever had. Instead of hamburger meatballs, I felt sausage would add more flavor so I bought a tray of sausages and removed them from the casing. I then rolled the meat into balls and browned them and patted them dry to remove most of the fat. For stock, if you don't have any homemade I like to used 6 cups of water and two Knorr Homestyle Stock jelly cubes. I then season with onion powder, garlic salt and salt/pepper to taste. Finally, I use frozen spinach instead of escarole, and small bowtie pasta instead of orzo. I cook the pasta before hand so it doesn't soak up all of the stock and add the spinach to the boiling stock to thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This soup was wonderful. Everyone devoured it and asked for more. As per previous reviews, I used ground chicken for the meatballs, and baked them before adding to the soup to reduce grease. Also swapped out orzo in favour of acini de pepe. As others have mentioned, halve the amount of dry pasta (I suspect the original recipe was meant to call for one cup of cooked pasta, rather than uncooked). Will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States