Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Made this for a family in grief about recent loss of a family member. I wanted comfort food that they maybe hadn't already gotten 100 times. It was delish and they loved it. It made me so happy to know for a moment, at least, they felt happiness--a wonderful, comforting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Really good! The first time I had this soup was at a potluck. I enjoyed it so much, I made it and ate it again the following week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was very good and SUPER easy to make. I doubled the recipe, might cut back a tiny bit on the orzo next time though. Overall it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I used ground turkey and spinach and 1/2 cup orzo but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it was great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I thought it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I applied a number of adjustments recommended: reduced the amount of pasta & cooked it separately, used frozen spinach, added celery. Rather than being unkosher and mixing beef and chicken, I used vegetable broth and added the extra beef broth to provide a fuller flavor and served with a sprinkle of shredded parm. These being tough economic times, I doubled the recipe and got about 12 servings in all. This is definitely a filling, one-pot meal but if you can, serve it with a nice crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Basically , I like the recipe, but I did change a few things. First, I cooked 1 chopped onion and 2 cloves garlic in a little oil then added the broth and escarole. Also, I added salt and pepper to the meatballs and fried them in a couple teaspoons of oil first to get them browned. They taste alot better when you do that. Then I added them to the soup. Also, I agree that the Orzo's need to be cut in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVORY
Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was delicious. I didn't have chicken broth so i made 4 cups of chicken broth with a bullion cube. And Then added 2 cups of beef broth. I also sauteed onion, garlic, carrots, and celery in the pot before adding the chicken and beef broth. I also added spinach instead of the escarole. I used ground turkey because that's what I had on hand. I also added minced garlic and onion in the turkey mixture.I baked the miny meatballs in the oven first then put them in the soup. I also decreased the amount of orzo to 1/2 cup as suggested by the other reviews. I'm glad I cut down on the orzo because a half cup still seemed like a lot. Overall this was a great recipe and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Made it this evening for my family and it was fabulous! I followed several of the previous variations. I added a 1/4 onion to the broth, 2 stalks of celery, 1 boneless skinless, diced chicken breast, browned the meatballs, added 1 cup beef broth and 2 potatoes cut in chunks. It was beyond amazing with multigrain baguette and a salad and a great meal! Will definitely do again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is one of my favorite soups. I use ground turkey for the meatballs and I use sliced fresh spinach instead of escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States