Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is not what I was hoping for. Very bland, and if you cook according to directions, the escarole becomes slimy mush. I don't even want to try to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Soooo tasty! I used thyme instead of basil and it tastes great. Also lightly sauteed some garlic in the pot before adding the liquid. Will definitely make this delicious healthy meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good base, but this is a little bland. I added 1/2 tsp salt to meatballs. + onion, celery and black pepper to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desiree
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This soup was great. I had to use spinach and I also added onion and celery. I also use ground pork because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made some changes to the recipe after reading other peoples comments. I upped the amount of carrots to 1/2 a cup (which I still think wasn't enough) and added celery and onions. I also sauteed the veggies in a bit of olive oil before I added the broth to the pot. I browned the meat balls in a separate pan before cooking in the broth and added garlic to the mixture instead of onion powder. Finally, I cooked the pasta before adding it to the soup, and I cut the orzo pasta down to 1/2 a cup since so many reviews said there was too much pasta with following the recipe at a full cup. I wish I hadn't since I felt it needed more pasta. Overall a very quick and simple soup that is quite hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The little meatballs are power packed with flavor. Kale wasn't in season, so I substituted spinach: Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I tried this thinking 10 000 people can't be wrong but it does not work. It is super greasy. Cook the meatballs separately and add them at the end and cut the pasta to half. If you don't you will regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My family loved it. I cooked the pasta seperately and added to bowls just prior to serving as to not starch up the soup broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a787

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Very good! I used 6 c. chicken broth and 1 beef as other suggested. I shredded the carrots (to avoid detection by my kids) and sauteed the onion in a little oil to soften before adding. Also added a little garlic (hey, Italians put garlic in everything, I think). Also used spinach in place of the escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Delicious! I did use 6 cups chicken broth, 1 cup beef broth and cooked the pasta separately. Next time I wouldn't use quite as much pasta, but that's my only (tiny) complaint. The meatballs had great flavor and texture. YUM! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States