Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very good. I used spinach as my green though as that's what I'm used to in this soup. Be careful if not serving immediately though, because those little orzos will suck up all the broth if stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Not quite as good as some that I've had, but good nonetheless and very easy to make. I did modify the recipe a bit, following a combination of suggestions from other reviewers. I baked the meatballs at 350 for about 15 minutes and cooked the orzo separately. I then sauted some garlic, onion and the carrots in olive oil before adding the stock and all the other ingredients. Got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Ohio, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Used spinach...wonderful. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The whole family enjoyed this dish! (which is saying something) I added some freshly ground pepper, and it made it even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This soup is amazing! I used ground chicken instead of beef. Also topped with locatelli cheese and put some in the meat. Also, added a can of beef broth per another reviewer. My market didn't have escarole, so I just used spinach and it was great. Perfect with those small changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
1/2 pound italian sausage 2 tbsp bread crumbs 2 tbsp parmesan cheese 1 tsp dried basil 3/4-1tsp onion powder 3/3 tsp garlic powder mix above and roll into 1/2 inch balls 6 cups chicken broth 1 1/2 cups pasta 2 carrots peeled into shavings 1/2 cup diced green onion 1/2 to 3/4 cup roughly chopped italian parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I've always wanted to find a great meatball recipe as well as wedding soup. My search is over! The meatballs turned out tender (I used 1.5lb of beef and 1/2 lb of pork). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I thought this was a really good soup, but it needed a bit more seasoning. I think I will look for the little round pasta that I normally see in wedding soup for next time, but orzo worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Only giving this a 4 because Changed it signigicantly. I use pork and beef, escorole and spinache, added fresh garlic and onion to the broth and a few other things to taste. I also used Pastina pasta because they will not swell like the orzo pasta. Don't be afraid NOT to follow the recipe to a T. Taste as you go and add what you like as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Followed the suggestions made by others, and it turned out well. I especially agree that adding a small portion of beef stock to the chicken stock enhances the flavor. The traditional wedding soup is made with chicken stock however- if you look up the origins of this soup, you will see that the term wedding is not from being served at marriages, It is from a rough translation meaning the "marriage" of chicken and beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States