Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very nice. Easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Yummy soup, a little plain though. Next time i will do what another reviewer did and sautee onioms and garlic in pot before adding broth. Will also brown the balls. I used chicken stock instead of broth and skipped the Orzo since it doesn't really add much taste or nutrition. Used grass fed beef for the balls and panko for the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberoxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I used spinach instead of escarole only because I did not have any, but still very good! I also added a little bit of garlic to the meatballs..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent soup my 7 year old ask for it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
It is a common misconception that this is a soup traditionally served at Italian weddings. It actually gets its name from the "marriage" of leafy vegetables and meat. I look forward to trying this recipe, which looks delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Outstanding! The only change I made was to use fresh spinach instead of escarole. I served this with homemade dinner rolls. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was very good. I changed a couple of things to give it a light but flavorful taste. I double the recipe to feed our family of 6. to make the meatballs I used 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey, 1/3 cup bread crumbs, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup parma cheese. I added the meatballs to the boiling broth that was 10 cups low sodium Chicken broth and 2 cups beef Stock. Along with meatballs I added the carrots, onions, and 1 stalk of celery, chopped. after 8 minutes, I added 14 oz of Fresh Spinach, chopped, and 1/2 cup parma cheese, and 1 cup orzo pasta and cooked for another 10 minutes. I was perfect! :) Thank you for this great start to a wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend, and he loves it. The day before I made this recipe, I made my own stock, and I used 4 cups of that stock with one cup of beef bouillon - I thought I grabbed a can of beef broth, but when I got it home it was chicken. The flavor made by combining the broths is perfect! I used shredded carrots (so he'd eat them) and diced an onion for the soup. I did brown my meatballs slightly before adding them to the broth, and cooked the orzo separately. So I used a few dishes to make it, but it is worth the extra clean up! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe! I didn't have onion powder so I substituted some garlic powder instead. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Tasty but needed some additions. For the meatballs I did not add basil or onion powder, I chopped a small clove of garlic and 1 TBS chopped fresh parsley and added it to the meat I also added 3TBS bread crumbs and 2 TBS grated parm along with the egg instead of what the recipe called for. In the pot for the broth I sauteed in olive oil 2 garlic cloves, 1/2 medium onion, and 2 medium carrots all chopped fine. I also added some chopped anise because I didn't have celery on hand. then I added a box of Trader Joe Chicken Broth and about a cup of water, let it come to a boil and then added the meat balls. and let it cook for about 15 minutes. I added 1/2 cup orzo and let it simmer until the orzo was cooked, and finally a bag if fresh spinach. I knew there would be no left overs which is why I cooked the pasta in the soup. I used lean chop meat and had no problem with the soup benig greasy at all. Good base recipe, thanks for adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States