Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is the first time I've made this and it is definately one I will be making again. I baked the meatballs in the oven first, and cooked the pasta before adding it to soup. I added Italian bread with garlic and had a wonderful dinner. I also made enough for leftovers. One can never have too much soup in the fall and winter. Wonderful recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Wonderful!!! My first attempt at this kind of soup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is really good. I followed the recipe almost exactly. Only deviations were: I used beef broth and chicken broth, added some salt and onion flakes, used spinach and added some celery. I served it with a nice crusty bread and the family loved it. As they say, "it is a do-over"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I didn't make this exactly as written so I didn't give it 4 stars because I think it came out perfect with the adjustments I made. I doubled the recipe, used 1 c. orzo for the entire thing, and did 1/3 beef broth and 2/3 chicken broth. Also used spinach instead of escarole but that's because that is all I had on hand. Kids loved the meatballs and my ultra picky 2 year old even at the "green stuff" (Spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was excellent! I took others' advice as well as made substitutions based on what I had available; here are my changes: Added garlic powder to the meatballs, used dried minced onion instead of onion powder and baked them. Added a clove of garlic, upped the carrots to 1/2 cup, added 2 stalks of celery, used one cup of chicken stock and 6 cups vegetable stock, cut the orzo in half and cooked it separately, added a green onion, sauteed all veggies before adding broth. I think that's it. It was soo good! Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Delicious recipe. I make large amounts and freeze for later, because it is that delicious! My changes: 1 lb turkey for meatballs and follow everyone's suggestion at baking then separate so the soup does not have too much fat. Keep the ingredients of meatballs the same. Use spinach instead of escarole (and I use a WHOLE bag). I use a whole box of Orzo pasta. Also add 1-2 cups of beef broth for that extra kick everyone talks about. Delicious. Have made it 5-6 times since finding this recipe a month ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Yum! This is simply fantastic. I must admit, I did not anticipate this to be as good as it actually was. I expected a decent soup, but what my hubs and I ate tonight far exceeded that. Fall weather is finally here (the temp dropped from the high 70's to the low 60's overnight). Steaming bowls of soup warmed us up on this chilly day. :) To be fair, I must disclose that I made several changes, some to suit my / our tastes and one completely by accident. Because I mistakenly thawed ground chicken, I used that instead of beef. I also upped the breadcrumbs / cheese by a couple T due to my mixture being too mushy to form meatballs (with my change, I had no problems). I added a 14.5 oz. can of beef broth since many reviews susggested it gave this soup the "oomph" it seemed to be lacking. I also added a couple of sliced green onions because I had them on hand. My final change was to sub acini di pepe pasta for orzo and boil it separately, then add to our soup - and I'm glad I did. NOTE: There is no need to bake or brown your MB's first. My hubs usually comments when I skip this step, but he and I both agreed that this was just not necessary. Served with a crusty loaf of Italian bread, this was a delicious and simple meal. Thanks for sharing Star! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
The meatballs are what make this soup perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Schultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Love this soup. I use 3/4 cups pasta and frozen spinach instead of escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States