Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Just to save time I bought Rozzano 1/2 frozen meatballs and cooked them 15 minutes in oven. I used chicken broth and beef broth. I also cooked the orzo before adding it to the soup. The next time I would decrease orzo by 1/2 cup. Along with the other reviews it is best to make it one day and eat it the next. It definietly needs to marinate. Spices used were garlic, onion powder, oregano. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJHall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I love it, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe was a really good start, but with some tweaks it made the best soup I've ever had. Instead of hamburger meatballs, I felt sausage would add more flavor so I bought a tray of sausages and removed them from the casing. I then rolled the meat into balls and browned them and patted them dry to remove most of the fat. For stock, if you don't have any homemade I like to used 6 cups of water and two Knorr Homestyle Stock jelly cubes. I then season with onion powder, garlic salt and salt/pepper to taste. Finally, I use frozen spinach instead of escarole, and small bowtie pasta instead of orzo. I cook the pasta before hand so it doesn't soak up all of the stock and add the spinach to the boiling stock to thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This soup was wonderful. Everyone devoured it and asked for more. As per previous reviews, I used ground chicken for the meatballs, and baked them before adding to the soup to reduce grease. Also swapped out orzo in favour of acini de pepe. As others have mentioned, halve the amount of dry pasta (I suspect the original recipe was meant to call for one cup of cooked pasta, rather than uncooked). Will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I let it sit in the frige overnight and we really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious! I used ASHLEYBEGOOD's suggestions. Used kale instead of escarole and added some shallots (had them on hand) finely diced to the meatballs. Baking them @ 350 for about 15-20 minutes before adding them to the soup cut down on the amount of grease but still gave them enough time to lend their beefy goodness to the soup. I also added a little garlic and herb seasoning towards the end which kicked it up a notch. Will definitely be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
we use spicy italian sausage in place of the ground beef for extra flavor and LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The soup was a hit! everyone loved it and wants the recipe!! Ended up following everyone's suggestions 1. used 6 cups chicken broth and i cup beef broth 2. for the meatballs used half pork and half beef and also cooked them before i put them in the soup 3. only used 1/2 cup of stelline pasta and cooked it before putting in the soup 4. ended up cooking on low in my dutch oven for about 5 hours to really build the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Really great base for a soup, however it lacks a depth of flavor. I doubled the amount of meatballs, and bumped up portions of everything else. I also used a mix of chicken and beef broth that added some nice flavor. Kale worked instead of endive and was still delicious--it was what I had on hand, and it's really good for you. The broth is going to need more seasoning than just the meatballs--prepare to add salt, pepper, and oregano/basil/garlic. Next time, I think I'll sautée some garlic and onion before adding the broth. Also, some people have said cook the meatballs before to get some of the fat out--I did this, and I think it was a mistake. A lot of the flavor of the soup comes from the meat, so cooking the meatballs in the broth may add that depth that was missing the first time around. Plus, if you use lean ground beef, the amount of fat shouldn't be an issue. (Authentic Italian Wedding soup has an oily texture because of this.) Overall, though, it's a very tweakable soup, and I'll definitely experiment with it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I love this soup and use ground turkey and only 1/2 cup of orzo pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States