Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was delicious. I didn't have chicken broth so i made 4 cups of chicken broth with a bullion cube. And Then added 2 cups of beef broth. I also sauteed onion, garlic, carrots, and celery in the pot before adding the chicken and beef broth. I also added spinach instead of the escarole. I used ground turkey because that's what I had on hand. I also added minced garlic and onion in the turkey mixture.I baked the miny meatballs in the oven first then put them in the soup. I also decreased the amount of orzo to 1/2 cup as suggested by the other reviews. I'm glad I cut down on the orzo because a half cup still seemed like a lot. Overall this was a great recipe and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Made it this evening for my family and it was fabulous! I followed several of the previous variations. I added a 1/4 onion to the broth, 2 stalks of celery, 1 boneless skinless, diced chicken breast, browned the meatballs, added 1 cup beef broth and 2 potatoes cut in chunks. It was beyond amazing with multigrain baguette and a salad and a great meal! Will definitely do again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is one of my favorite soups. I use ground turkey for the meatballs and I use sliced fresh spinach instead of escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Great soup! I doubled the meatballs (because I had a pound of ground beef to use), used 7 cups broth, 5 stalks of curly kale, chopped, instead of escarole, 1.25 cups melon seed pasta (much like orzo), and a large carrot (maybe .5 cup). Served with more parm on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrszink02
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a great recipe. I followed other reviews. I doubled it all, but used 1 cup of orzo. sauteed celery, carrots and onions in my soup pot, then added chicken/beef broth.... made the meatballs and baked them for 20 min at 350 then threw them in the brother, made the orzo separate in another pot...and added it all in...was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrszink02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
so good. didnt know pork turns pink when boiled. brown meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Would not make this again. It was a lot of work, dirtied a lot of dishes and wasn't worth the effort. It was bland and not very appetizing. I used recommendations by other reviewers to cook the orzo separately and reduce to it 1/2 c. otherwise I followed the recipe to a "T". I do not recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used 1 lb of ground turkey instead of beef and I browned the meatballs for a few minutes in a little bit of olive oil before adding in the other ingredients. Also, I would really suggest adding about a tsp of dried thyme to the meatball mixture, it adds a delicious flavor. I also used a handful of finely chopped Swiss Chard because that is what I had growing in my garden. The result was a fantastic soup my family and I, even my two year old, ate for three days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
So wonderfull. Made ths today as it was a rainy day. Only change was I subbed spinach as I did not have escarole on hand. Still deliscious. Froze the leftovers. Looking foward to eating the leftovers at future lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is really good. I made a few additions. I added garlic herb powder & half a finely chopped onion to the meat mixture. I browned the meat balls in a little olive oil because I wanted to eliminate the extra grease from the meat to get in the soup. I drained the meatballs on paper towel. I sauteed the other half of the finely chopped onion in a little olive oil, added 1 cup of carrots, added 6 cups of water and 1.5 cubes of bouillon (one chicken and half beef), then I added frozen spinach and let it simmer. I finally added cooked pasta at the end and let it sit for a bit to let the pasta soak some of the flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States