Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lbarnaby
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is an incredibly easy soup to make. I tripled it to make extra for our neighbor and daughters. I used ground pork and chicken, instead of beef, and followed another's advice to cook orzo separately. Tastes wonderful and serving it with bread recipe from all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
5 stars with a few changes: Make/bake meatballs first 1C carrots, 1C onions, 1C celery sauteed to soften used 1 pkg frozen spinach added 1-2C beef broth added extra spices for flavor simmer 2+ hours for better flavor cook pasta separate then add at end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have made this soup many many times and my family loves it! The only thing i would recommend is to stick to the recipe as far as the instructions go. Some people here recommend BAKING the meatballs thus effectively removing any beef flavor from the soup and then ADDING beef broth! If you cook your meatballs in the soup you will get that beef flavor as they release the flavor when they cook. Also, I add 1/2 cup of pasta and cook it in the soup. I does absorb the liquid somewhat but i like that "cooked in the broth" flavor of my pasta. I just turn the soup off after about 5 minutes of cooking when the pasta is not done yet. After it sits for 10-15 minutes, it gets done but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made this soup 2 days ago and loved it! Now having left overs today it is as good or better! Only thing I did different is brown the meatballs in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Delicious, simple soup. The meatballs are fantastic--I use ground turkey. Very kid-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
VERY salty maybe use reduced salt broth next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Super easy soup and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
What a winner !!! This was a great soup. Only difference from the recipe was using spinach vs escarole. Like any good soup, tastes better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I liked that this soup was jam-packed full of delicious noodles, veggies and meatballs. It was filling and hearty. The meatballs were particularly tasty and flavourful. However, I thought the soup base was bland and lacking in flavour. I would definitely make this again but next time I will add more herbs and seasonings to make the soup stock as tasty as the other components.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
very good soup, however, my meatballs did not stay together. Way better than canned, but something just a little missing. too much orzo relative to everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States