Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Only giving this a 4 because Changed it signigicantly. I use pork and beef, escorole and spinache, added fresh garlic and onion to the broth and a few other things to taste. I also used Pastina pasta because they will not swell like the orzo pasta. Don't be afraid NOT to follow the recipe to a T. Taste as you go and add what you like as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Followed the suggestions made by others, and it turned out well. I especially agree that adding a small portion of beef stock to the chicken stock enhances the flavor. The traditional wedding soup is made with chicken stock however- if you look up the origins of this soup, you will see that the term wedding is not from being served at marriages, It is from a rough translation meaning the "marriage" of chicken and beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
very good. used frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe. My only changes are that I use spicy Italian sausage instead of ground beef and spinach instead of escarole. This soup is one of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Easy soup. Tasted really good...I added some extra seasoning to the meatballs because they tasted a little bland, but otherwise terrific! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
For those who are having problems with the Orzo absorbing all the liquid, I left out a cup of broth during cooking, and then poured in the room-temperature broth at the end of cooking to keep the pasta al dente. Doesn't fix it completely but certainly makes it last longer. I made this soup for my boyfriend who has always loved Italian Wedding soup. I used Kale instead of Escarole (because that's all I could find), and left the carrots out. The soup was extremely hearty and delicious, and he even commented that I should make this for his mom some time! A delicious, quick, and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The meatballs in the soup had a fantastic taste, I think owing to the Parmesan cheese. The basil had an overpowering flavor, but I liked it. The one downside was that the orzo pasta soaked up the broth, so the next day when I wanted to eat it I had to add water to make it soup, watering the taste down. Definitely could have used bigger and more pieces of carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The recipe is completely off! The amount of pasta is way too high, the meatballs won't cook all the way in the soup and there aren't nearly enough seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yummy in my Tummy! I made this in a crock pot for a soup themed pot luck. My friend's 5yr old girl had 2 bowls. I was amazed! I make the meatballs with ground turkey sausage, because it gives the meatballs a different flavor & texture. Like other reviews I boiled the orzo seperately, and added a can of beef broth for a hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made this for dinner, and it's a keeper for us! Some changes I made by reading the reviews were to add some chopped celery, brown the meatballs and cook the orzo separately. I used one carton and one can of chicken broth, and my personal taste was to keep the orzo at one cup, since we love pasta. Next time I will add some garlic powder and pepper to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States