Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
very good. used frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe. My only changes are that I use spicy Italian sausage instead of ground beef and spinach instead of escarole. This soup is one of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Easy soup. Tasted really good...I added some extra seasoning to the meatballs because they tasted a little bland, but otherwise terrific! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
For those who are having problems with the Orzo absorbing all the liquid, I left out a cup of broth during cooking, and then poured in the room-temperature broth at the end of cooking to keep the pasta al dente. Doesn't fix it completely but certainly makes it last longer. I made this soup for my boyfriend who has always loved Italian Wedding soup. I used Kale instead of Escarole (because that's all I could find), and left the carrots out. The soup was extremely hearty and delicious, and he even commented that I should make this for his mom some time! A delicious, quick, and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The meatballs in the soup had a fantastic taste, I think owing to the Parmesan cheese. The basil had an overpowering flavor, but I liked it. The one downside was that the orzo pasta soaked up the broth, so the next day when I wanted to eat it I had to add water to make it soup, watering the taste down. Definitely could have used bigger and more pieces of carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The recipe is completely off! The amount of pasta is way too high, the meatballs won't cook all the way in the soup and there aren't nearly enough seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yummy in my Tummy! I made this in a crock pot for a soup themed pot luck. My friend's 5yr old girl had 2 bowls. I was amazed! I make the meatballs with ground turkey sausage, because it gives the meatballs a different flavor & texture. Like other reviews I boiled the orzo seperately, and added a can of beef broth for a hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made this for dinner, and it's a keeper for us! Some changes I made by reading the reviews were to add some chopped celery, brown the meatballs and cook the orzo separately. I used one carton and one can of chicken broth, and my personal taste was to keep the orzo at one cup, since we love pasta. Next time I will add some garlic powder and pepper to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Made this for a soup supper at work. I had high hopes, so I tripled the recipe. Out of four soups presented, this is the only one that emptied the crock TWICE. It was also the only one my coworkers fought over in taking the leftovers (I tripled it, remember?) home. Good stuff! What I did differently because of what I had on hand: 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 beef, and fresh spinach instead of escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Thanks to all the helpful reviews, we loved this soup! I took the advice of others to use 6 cups chicken broth & 1 cup beef broth. I also added 1 clove minced garlic to the meatballs & used dried minced onion instead of onion powder. The meatballs are delicious! I baked them (on parchment paper) at 350 for 20 minutes to get that nice color & get rid of some grease. Definitely good advice to go 1/2 cup on the orzo (even this ended up soaking up most of the liquid, but it was still pretty good!) & cook it separately. I used 1 cup carrots & liked that amount. I also added 1/2 of an onion (chopped) & 1 clove minced garlic sauteed with the carrots before adding broth & meatballs to simmer. I only had a 10 oz box of frozen spinach so I used that (added near the end of cooking) and it was good to go! The Hubster just loved this soup and he's a big fan of italian wedding soup, so that says a lot. Thanks for the recipe and all the great advice! Makes this a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States