Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I am giving this a 5 even though I think it needs the help of reviews. I read reviews the first time and used only 1/2 cup and also added beef broth. Forgot about the reviews the 2nd time and used a whole cup of orzo and no beef broth...the soup was overwhelmed by the orzo. DEFINITELY use only 1/2 cup of orzo!!! Also flavor is better with some beef broth. Delicious though, and I am glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Edwards Cook VanDyke

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Used ground turkey instead of beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Was Delicious and definitely browned the meatballs first. Also used old fasioned oats instead of bread crumbs because I can't have wheat. Used turkey broth and ground turkey and it was fabulous. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I am really enjoying this soup. I doubled the recipe, but did not double the orzo. Also, I used homemade beef broth in place of the chicken broth and I did bake my meatballs (400 degrees for ~15 minutes) and just added them to the soup at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very nice. Easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Yummy soup, a little plain though. Next time i will do what another reviewer did and sautee onioms and garlic in pot before adding broth. Will also brown the balls. I used chicken stock instead of broth and skipped the Orzo since it doesn't really add much taste or nutrition. Used grass fed beef for the balls and panko for the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberoxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I used spinach instead of escarole only because I did not have any, but still very good! I also added a little bit of garlic to the meatballs..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent soup my 7 year old ask for it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
It is a common misconception that this is a soup traditionally served at Italian weddings. It actually gets its name from the "marriage" of leafy vegetables and meat. I look forward to trying this recipe, which looks delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Outstanding! The only change I made was to use fresh spinach instead of escarole. I served this with homemade dinner rolls. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States