Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This is the secound year that I have used this recipe. I love them. I cut the salt a little this year, I didn't notice too much salt but my husband said something last year. I think I ate these the most out of all the cookies I make. I just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This recipe produces an excellent version of this type of cookie. I reduced the salt to about 1/4 tsp and rolled them in 10X sugar three times each. I found that about 12 minutes produced the right amount of doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These went over like gang busters! They are very delicate and are awesome in tea. They melt in your mouth!! I used walnuts instead of almonds or pecans, as those are the favorite in my house. Worked GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
these cookies were delicious! the best recipe i've found for this type so far... if you make a small change.. i agree with the other reviewers about the salt. i added only 1/4tsp to the dough and they were perfect. i especially like that this recipe calls for pwd sugar instead of white sugar in the dough. i think that it made the cookie extra melt-in-your-mouth. i also used ground pecans instead of almonds, that's the way i like best. a hint for rolling them in the sugar after they bake... roll once when the cookie is still hot and again when it is completely cool. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I remember having these as a child. I was so happy to find a good recipe. They are very tasty, just as I remember them, and my son loved helping me roll them in the powdered sugar. I will definitely put this in my recipe file so my children can enjoy them often. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I thought these turned out pretty good. I made them for a wedding reception and they were very elegant. I used unsalted butter and reduced the amount of salt to 1/4 t. I also added 1 t. of almond extract for a bit more flavor. With a small food scale, I weighed my dough to about a half ounce per cookie and the recipe made more than 80 cookies. I made the crescent shapes, and they didn't "roll in the extra confectioners sugar" too easily, so I put them on wax paper and sifted the powdered sugar over them. Also, to finely chop the almonds, I used a Black and Decker Handy Chopper. It chops about a 1/2 cup to 1 cup at a time. Just have to run it for at least a minute to get the almonds as small as it will chop. Final Note: Not your average cookie, so don't expect the kiddos to go wild over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldsjackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Wonderful recipe! Easier to make than I thought. Used parchment paper to bake the dough on, and a pastry brush to brush chocolate on the top layer. If chocolate cracks when cutting, just fill it in with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I love this recipe, however, I added more vanilla than what was called for because vanilla gives it such a good flavor. I also used pecans instead of almonds. I've made other versions of this particular cookie but I like this recipe the best and will make it every year at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Growing up we called these 'snowball' cookies, and this is a very good recipe. I like crushed pecans, instead of almonds - but any nut would do. The salt is excessive, unless you're using unsalted butter. I cut it for my second batch to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This is excellent! I made mine small so they are tender little bites of great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States